Converting DVD with menus etc.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by shevans, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. shevans macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    #1
    Is there any method of converting a DVD so that it plays "just like a DVD in a DVD player" or as they do in Frontrow?

    I have quite a few DVD that I would like to be able to navigate to the extras from within AppleTV and converting 10 or so titles on each DVD and tagging them all is a right pain in the ....
     
  2. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #2
    Front Row (and I believe Apple TV) can read video_TS folders, so you could just rip the DVDs straight to your hard drive, which will keep the menus and extras.

    As far as I know, that's the only way to do it. MactheRipper and Fairmount are the only two Mac programs I know that can do it, but there may be others.
     
  3. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    ATV cannot read VIDEO_TS folders.
     
  4. shevans thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    #4
    That would explain why I was unable to do anything with the ones I created on my iMac :(
     
  5. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #5
    Weird. Front does, but ATV doesn't.
     
  6. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #6
    Just jumping in here, but why do you want the menus? I HATE DVD menus. They just require that much more time and that many more button presses to actually start a movie. They were neat for about a week when DVDs came out, but after that... blech.

    You could probably play VIDEO_TS folders on a hacked ATV, but the storage requirements would be stupid compared to ripping to h264. A decent looking movie in h264 with 5.1 audio is under 2gb; a full DVD rip is usually over 6 and up to 8gb... that means you'd have 3 or 4 times less movies. EDIT: aTV Flash lets you play video_ts folders. atvflash.com

    I dunno, seems like it defeats the purpose of the ATV, to me.
     
  7. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #7
    Only way to get to the extras, I guess.
     
  8. Shoesy macrumors 6502a

    Shoesy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    Colchester, UK.
    #8
    if you really want to you could try metadatahootenanny to make your own dvd like menus right in your quicktime files (still wouldnt be any good for atv but...)

    Try 'em out : -

    http://www.applesolutions.com/bantha/MH.html
     
  9. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

    mrgreen4242

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    #9
    If you want to rip the extras just rip the extras. You can easily navigate to them from the regular ATV menu.
     
  10. redAPPLE macrumors 68030

    redAPPLE

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Location:
    2 Much Infinite Loops
    #10
    how do you rip the extras?

    is there a "best practice" instruction how to do this?
     
  11. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #11
    The same way you rip/encode the main feature.... :confused:
     
  12. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

    Dimwhit

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #12
    Handbrake, by default, selects the title track to rip. But you can select other tracks and rip those, as well.
     
  13. tdmac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    #13
    Just to jump in here I agree that it takes less space to rip them via handbrake and the quality is very good. But, it only takes like 15min to rip a movie via mactheripper. Then you have to re-encode with handbrake. A much much longer process. I have been doing it but would be great to simplify things and just rip via mactheripper and watch the movie. Also can rip 4 movies in the time it takes to do one. Then you don't have to encode extras by themselves and everything is contained.

    Space these days is cheap.

    I also want to keep the video_Ts files because I can re-encode for different purpioses becuase I still have the "Master". i.e. rip the movie with the handbrake apple-tv encoding and then want to rip for the ipod or vice versa.

    Also, one never knows what the future holds and having them ripped as video_ts you can be sure they will play on most devices out there.
     
  14. DeFett macrumors member

    DeFett

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #14
    Just wondering is there a reason why people use mactheripper? In the past I have just dragged the VIDEO_TS folder to my desktop from the disc icon and handbrake was still to read and rip it.

    Mind you I haven't tried the folder in FrontRow.
     
  15. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #15
    Starting with .9.3 (or the developer snapshots), Handbrake does not have the ability to decode encrypted content without a 3rd party application. Plus, Handbrake's methods aren't the best when it comes to the new protection schemes out there.
     

Share This Page