Converting GPL code to new language, can I change the license?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by foidulus, Mar 3, 2011.

1. foidulus macrumors 6502a

There is a (relatively) simple library that I would like to convert from C++ to C, and then incorporate into a BSD licensed project I am working on.

Am I allowed to look at the GPL code, convert it, then release the result as BSD? Or do I have to go more "clean room" and totally re-implement the algorithm without looking at the GPL code.

Yes I know the standard "get a lawyer" answer, but I was wondering if anyone had any experience with this.

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

I am not a lawyer but I'd say this: if you read their code and just re-type it/convert it to another language you are "tainted" by the GPL licensed implementation.

3. ncl macrumors member

Not a lawyer but I'd say no. Translation from one programming language to another is considered a derivative work (section 0). And derivative of a GPL licensed work must be licensed under the GPL.
    GPL v2, section 2 b)
    GPL v3, section 5 c)

4. firewood macrumors 604

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

The way big corporations do this is to look at the code and write a detailed spec that itself contains none of the copyrighted material. The give the spec to someone else who has never seen the code (perhaps they can't even read the code's original language), only your spec.

5. foidulus thread starter macrumors 6502a

Unfortunately I'm not a big corp, I'm just a lowly grad student, I don't own the rights to change the license of the code I want to integrate the GPL code with.

Well, if I cannot change the language, is creating a separate iPhone library, releasing the code to said library under GPL, then statically linking it to an iPhone application considered a violation?