Converting old Mac into "dropbox" server for iOS and desktop devices

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by RoboWarriorSr, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. RoboWarriorSr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #1
    I know currently one can convert an old Mac into a server relatively easily but is there is there a way to make a server usable on iOS devices like dropbox? Or is the better option buying hardware that has this feature built-in like some of the Synergy equipment?
     
  2. sevoneone macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    #2
    You can use WebDAV, which has support in the iWork apps on iOS. Setting it up used to be tricky, but I have not used it in awhile. Also, if your ISP is blocking port 80 outbound this won't work for you.

    Option two is to setup a regular file/FTP server and use a good file management app on your iPad to transfer files back and forth. I really like a free app called Documents by Readdle for this. It does not support AFP unfortunately, but it does support FTP, SFTP and SMB. A lot of ISPs block the ports for SMB both inbound and outbound though, so S/FTP is really the only choices.
     
  3. RoboWarriorSr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    #3

    Okay thanks I'll try these
     
  4. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #4
    Running a webdav server for several years now. Here's a good starting place:
    http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Apache-WebDAV-LDAP-HOWTO/x383.html
     
  5. unplugme71 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    I love WebDAV. However, mine can only be accessed locally or over VPN for security. I also put a lot of security checks, audits, and logs in place to monitor stuff.
     
  6. scho0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #6
  7. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #7
    "ownCloud can be installed on Windows and Linux operating systems"

    Are you running it in a VM?
     
  8. scho0ck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2014
    Location:
    London
    #8
    Hi,

    No running it via the native Mac Server apache however there apparently is a problem when you use german characters but I could not reproduce the issue so far and there is also a community fix for it.

    I'm also running "memcached" and "apc" installed via Macports to speed up php

    Database wise I'm using MySql


    Haven't found any bugs related to OS X yet.
     

Share This Page