Converting VIDEO_TS folder - weird macroblocking

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by nightfly13, Aug 28, 2009.

1. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

nightfly13

I have an obscure kids DVD I'm trying to get on my kids' iPod (poor-man's AppleTV- permanently fixed to their tv).

I have the VIDEO_TS folder on my hard drive now (curiously, I just dragged and dropped it and it worked perfectly). If I load this folder into VLC is plays gorgeously. If I play a single VOB in VLC there's severe macro blocking.

When I convert the file to either mp4 or mkv in handbrake, the macroblocking makes it basically useless. In visualhub it's the same thing - unwatchable macroblocking (although I haven't tried all the settings/containers).

Even tried to transcode the stream in VLC - but I don't think it could get past the opening menu (I couldn't make it transcode the stream through the pressing 'play' button in the dvd). I haven't exhausted all my options - but I'm hopeful that someone knows what I'm talking about and has a solution! My kids love this movie and I don't really like giving them my computer all the time to watch it :)

2. jbuk macrumors regular

I suppose you could try ripping in HandBrake with the 'Deblock' filter enabled, which might alleviate the problem a little. Oh, and rip to a higher bitrate (the Apple > Universal preset at either 59 or 62% constant quality should do it, and will probably still play on an iPod (unless its a 5G video).

3. nightfly13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

nightfly13

Hmm haven't seen that option - I will investigate.

The trick, I think, isn't to minimize the blocking, but to figure out why the DVD and the whole VIDEO_TS folder play smoothly, without any blocking, but the individual VOBs and any converted video has chronic blocking.

I have the newest generation iPod 'classic' - the 120GB. I say newest generation knowing that'll be true for another 2 weeks or so :p

4. nightfly13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

nightfly13