CoolBook Settings Suggestions

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by dannster, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. dannster macrumors regular

    dannster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Hi all,

    I've just purchased CoolBook in the hope it will allow me to play HD TV shows without one of the core's shutting down thus leading to poor quality.

    The only thing is, I don't understand any of the settings and the manual doesn't really help make it easy!

    I have the first gen MBA SSD version.

    Thanks! :)
     
  2. dannster thread starter macrumors regular

    dannster

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
  3. leez macrumors regular

    leez

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
  4. AIRniloc macrumors regular

    AIRniloc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    anozira
    #4
    have my settings like this:

    Frequency Voltage
    798 .9250
    931 .9500
    1596 .9625
    1862 .9875
     
  5. drjsway macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #5
    For me:

    798 .9250
    931 .9250
    1596 .9250
    1862 .9375
     
  6. AIRniloc macrumors regular

    AIRniloc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    anozira
    #6
    your system is stable at 1862 MHz / .9375 V ???

    wow
     
  7. YOKOJP macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #7
    i set everything to .9250 and it's fine.
     
  8. AIRniloc macrumors regular

    AIRniloc

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Location:
    anozira
    #8
    i got KPs at 1862 MHz @ .9500 V :( i guess all chips aren't created equal
     
  9. drjsway macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #9
    Had everything set at .9250 and it was generally very stable. However, once I was handbraking a video and halfway through encode, I got a popper kernel, so I bumped 1862 to .9375V.

    It is all luck whether you get a chip capable of running efficiently. My friend can't even undervolt down to 1.000V for his MacBook Air.
     
  10. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #10
    there are no fixed settings, you have to try it yourself step by step. and it depends on your temperature's area too. if you are using it in a warm environment without air conditioner. lower temps might cause issue than the others using the same setting but using the air in air conditioned area.
     
  11. kaku945 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #11
    me too, it finally now plays 1080p video perfectly. Amazing how well the software works.

    One question, do we have to keep the software open all the time? I guess is no, but just to confirm.
     
  12. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #12
    no, u dont have too. Even after a computer restart.
     
  13. kaku945 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    #13
    Thanks. :)

    The software does change the machine completely!:)
     
  14. aleni macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #14
    Be sure to bump up the voltage 1 step up if anything bad happens.
     

Share This Page