iPhone Copic Activation

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by eyoungren, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. eyoungren, Feb 18, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2013

    eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #1
    I installed Copic last week some time and then uninstalled it. Today, I bought it (after installing it again). I've been sent the secret key, but every time I press the Activation button nothing happens.

    I've emailed their tech support but was wondering if anyone knew how to get this activated. The trial is expired so even though it's "on" nothing is showing.

    iOS6.1, iPhone 5.

    EDIT [7:30pm, 2-18-2013]: Nevermind. I added their repository directly and it seems that there is a higher (beta) version available there than what's in Cydia. I uninstalled the Cydia version and then installed the beta version from the iArrays repository and was presented with an activation screen on respring. Activation went through fine and everything is now showing.
     
  2. x-evil-x macrumors 68030

    x-evil-x

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #2
    You have problems with the SMS app crashing when you first start it up after resetting your phone?
     
  3. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #3
    No, so far no crashes. There was some sort of fix for a crash mentioned in the description of the tweak so I assume it must mean the one you mention.

    Perhaps a conflict with some other tweak you may have, assuming you have the latest version of Copic?
     
  4. ahhboi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    #4
    How does Copic compare with Cyntact?
    I'm still unsure which one to get......
    Can advise?

    Thanks
     
  5. Adutrumque macrumors 65816

    Adutrumque

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #5
    Copic shows pic in "Recent" list and more than Cyntact. I regret buying both, should've been Copic alone.
     
  6. ahhboi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    #6
    Thanks~! :)
     
  7. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #7
    Yeah, I bought Cyntact first. Then realized that Cyntact doesn't show contact pics in the SMS contact list.

    Yeah, should have bought Copic first.
     
  8. ProudLoz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #8
    Dude, thank you so much for your suggestion of adding their repo. I was frustrated that after a while copic stopped working on my iPhone. There must've been a conflict somewhere, but I did just about anything to fix it. The beta version now works like a charm. :cool:

    Also, Copic is better than Cyntact since it'll show your contact pictures in more areas of your iPhone. However, I find that Cyntact manages to show pictures in better quality compared to Copic, but it's not a big deal.
     
  9. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #9
    Assuming you bought Copic, I'm glad it's working now. Yeah, I just got an email this morning from the dev about adding the repo so apparently trying that yesterday was correct.

    If you have not bought the tweak then I assume that the beta will probably stop working at some point until you purchase it.

    I haven't noticed any quality difference, but I wasn't looking for one. In any case, Copic does seem to cover more areas and most importantly, the areas I use most frequently. And Copic has toggles in case you DON'T want pics in a certain area. Which is cool. Cyntact is an all or nothing deal it seems.
     
  10. ProudLoz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    #10
    Oh no, I most definitely bought it. Which is why I was upset. It wasn't expensive, it was like a dollar and some change, but it was upsetting that it just stopped working out of nowhere for no reason.
     
  11. eyoungren thread starter macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #11
    Oh, well, cool. Totally get that. It wouldn't let me activate, so that was my frustration. I have no idea why the dev does not have the new version in Cydia itself. In any case, glad I was able to help in mentioning that.
     

Share This Page