Copy Lion App to USB

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by whiteshadoww, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. whiteshadoww macrumors 6502

    whiteshadoww

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #1
    I have read a lot of posts about making a bootable USB drive for Lion. How about simply copying the entire file on a USB stick?

    I simply installed Lion, the re-downloaded the entire application but quit before installation started (as I had just installed Lion). I then coped the 3.7 gig application to a USB stick.

    Can I now install Lion on my other Mac with the copy on this USB stick?
     
  2. Intenost macrumors member

    Intenost

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #2
    Sure you can copy that file to the applications folder on another Snow Leopard system and install / upgrade to Lion.

    But if you want to have it on a stick that you can boot off of and install you need to follow the instructions that you've seen around the net and on MR.
     
  3. iwan073 macrumors regular

    iwan073

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    Holland
    #3
    Follow these instructions to make a bootable USB flash drive.
     
  4. whiteshadoww thread starter macrumors 6502

    whiteshadoww

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #4
    I saw the instructions about how to make a bootable USB drive but if I'm not interested in a clean install, what's the advantage of having the bootable versus having the entire Lion application (3.7 gig) on a USB?
     
  5. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    How did you re-download it?? I can't find a way to re-download it.
     
  6. gregd33 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #6
    Open the App store and click Purchases all while holding your OPTION key down. That is what they say in other threads though, oddly, for me, doing the above while holding down COMMAND worked on my iMac.

    Either OPTION or COMMAND will work though.
     

Share This Page