Copying from Camcorder to iMovie

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by abacab1003, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. abacab1003 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I have a Canon ZR45MC Camcorder with minidvd tapes. I would like to copy the tape into iMovie. I have connected the camera to my iMac via the usb port however nothing happens. I also copied the tape to a DVD via a DVD recorder and tried to save it that way however the file cannot be converted.
     
  2. b1u3b0y Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #2
    When you connected the camera did u open imovie and try to capture from the camera?? You have to manually press play to begin the capture..
     
  3. abacab1003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Yes however it was only showing the live camera from the imac
     
  4. b1u3b0y Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #4
    hmmm...so imovie isn't even recognizing that ur camera is connected...that's strange. Basically it's only showing the options 'built-in isight' and 'time laps'?? Sometimes just restarting ur computer can adjust the problem..or turning ur camera on and off when imovie is open and it's connected..
     
  5. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  6. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    Well, emt1 hit it on the head. Out of curiosity I just downloaded the manual from the Canon website. If you refer to page 102 of your copy of the manual, it notes that the included USB cable can only be used to transfer still images recorded on the memory card, not video.

    On that same page it gives you instructions how to hook up a firewire transfer cable that you will need to purchase, if you have not already, to transfer video footage to the computer. Make sure you get a cable with a full size plug on one end and the 4 pin mini plug (that they illustrate in the manual) for the camcorder end.

    Make sure when you do get a cable and attempt the transfer that you set the camera in its playback mode, not recording mode.
     
  7. Wayne s macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Location:
    UK
  8. abacab1003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I was not aware of the DV input. Next question is where would I get the cable? Apple store? Went to Radio Shack and they only had the 4 pin mini to the 4 pin mini. Do I need the 4 pin mini to a USB size?
     
  9. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    #9
    I HIGHLY recommend monoprice.com for cables. They are usually cheaper than stores even with shipping. Great customer service too
     
  10. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #10
    Funny what info those manuals have eh? :D

    Well, if you really want one locally then Best Buy and Circuit City have plenty in their camera sections, but if you can wait for mail order then places like emt1 mentioned are sources for them much cheaper as was mentioned.

    One at Best Buy is 6 pin to 4 pin FireWire cable even though their description is back-asswards as far as the connections go. Here is a Monster Cable cable that is the same connectors: Circuit City cable.
     
  11. NeoMayhem macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    #11
    lol at those prices. I think I paid like $5 for mine with shipping.
     
  12. emt1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  13. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #13
    Yep, I've got to agree- somehow or another I have got like 4 of them that came with equipment over the years- and I have yet to buy one! But if somebody has got to have one now, at least those places have them- you just pay through the ... for the convenience! ;)
     
  14. abacab1003 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Location:
    Boston
    #14
    Thanks to everyone. Got the cable for $4.50 and it works great.
     

Share This Page