copying hard drives?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by amtctt, Jul 18, 2007.

  1. amtctt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #1
    Ok, does anybody know of a free program to make a bootable copy of my windows partition so i can put it onto a larger hard drive. I have a Mac Pro. Adding a larger hd. Has anyone else done this? I was able to do it for the OS X partition, but haven't been able to on Windows.
     
  2. brkirch macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2001
  3. amtctt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #3
    OH SWEET!!!! thank you so much. i have been searching forever for something that does this. I've tried several with no luck, but this looks perfect. i really appreciate the help.
     
  4. amtctt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #4
    ok, i tried this briefly. couldn't get it to work. has anyone else used this succesfully?
     
  5. markbrads macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Winclone Is the Business

    It works a treat, printed the instructions of followed them to the rule and bingo, whats makes it even better is it's free.

    11/10 the only thing I would like to do is store the image on an external drive so I can make more use of disk space for the actual partitions, apart from that get it whle you can.

    Thanks Winclone for a great application :)
     
  6. Guy Incognito macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    #6
    I've used it. It works fine.
     
  7. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #7
    I use a program called SUPERDUPER it produces perfect clones on any MAC OSX drive.
     
  8. amtctt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    #8
    superduper won't clone the windows partition, right? that's what i need.
     
  9. SDDave2007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    #9
    SuperDuper will clone just about anything....
    I assume you are using BootCamp? becuase if you were using Parallels, then you just move a "file" and tell the VM where that file is....
     
  10. panzer06 macrumors 68030

    panzer06

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Location:
    Kilrath
    #10
    It worked well for me. What exactly did not work? Did you get an error message?

    The copy was so perfect the Windows partition even shows up as bootable from my firewire external drive. Doesn't boot because of Windows needing an internal disk to boot but that fact that it beleives everything is in order is awesome.

    I can now make multiple backup of OS X with Superduper and Windows with WinClone!
     

Share This Page