Copying miniDV tape from camcorder to iMovie

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by billy boing, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. billy boing macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    ok, I saw a post re: Panasonice miniDv but it went straight to software advice etc. I need to know how to cable connect my Panasonic PV-GS83 miniDV (tape) camcorder to the iMac or MacBookPro I have so that when I am in iMovie I can put the movie in there and save/edit/etc. the video.
    My camera says "digital video camera" but the only "out" connection is a single plug (like a mini-RCA ?) - and I believe it needs to go into a firewire. (?) but not sure.

    Either way I have not seen a cable yet to do this. I found an "analog to digital" converter box but now after reading the posts here it appears my video is "digital" so that is not what I need.

    Please help - please link to a cable or a provider or an answer.

    I simply want to get my miniDV movies into iMovie.

    Thanks so much for your attention and help! What can I do for you?
     
  2. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #2
    According to the Panasonic site for your camera it has a MiniDV (IEEE 1394) port that you can use to transfer via mini firewire, kind of a rectangle port probably labeled DV IN/OUT.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #3
    Sorry to say this... but the only way you're gonna achieve this is by using a firewire cable! Look for something called iLink! Also, post your Camcorder's Model No. here!:)
     
  4. cyclingplatypus macrumors 6502a

    cyclingplatypus

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Location:
    Earth
    #4
    He did put the model number in t=his original post.

    Looks like your connection is underneath the battery. (found this in the manual)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #5
    Sorry.... my bad:eek:

    OK, so it seems like all you need to do is visit a store and grab a cheap iLink cable! Search ebay maybe and you'll find lots!:)
     
  6. drossad macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    Yes, you can buy the cable you need on the internet somewhere, or you can get it at the Apple Store online under "cables" for Mac accessories. You will need a 6 pin to 4 pin cable.
     
  7. billy boing thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #7
    Thank You !!!!

    Wow, so simple - I feel a little stupid actually, but I did not see that under the battery !! You all are awesome, I can't wait to download my camera now!
    Thanks again!

    Hope I can do something for you one day.
     
  8. magiic macrumors regular

    magiic

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria
  9. RainForRent macrumors 6502

    RainForRent

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    #9
    What a silly place to put a firewire port. My canon has it right up front.
     
  10. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #10
    My old Sony doesnt have any ports on itself except the dc! It has a docking port below it which connects to a station (included) which has a plethora of ports!

    But still... used to be a pain in the a** until stopped using it full time!:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page