Copying Office 2003 in OSX

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by macman4789, Nov 13, 2008.

  1. macman4789 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #1
    Hi guys,

    I've been given a copy of MS office 2003 from the IT guy at work (I'm a lecturer) to use at home so nothin dodgy goin on here!

    My questions are will I be able to copy this using OSX leopard even though it's a windows based CD?

    If so, can I just use the program thats built into OSX to copy it?

    And what speed will I have to read and write? (i.e. will there be any copyright protection?)

    Thanks for your help
     
  2. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #2
    it wont work on your mac unless you have an intel mac and bootcamp or parralles/fusion/crossover


    id opt for macoffice 2004 or 2008 or get openoffice
     
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    ^^^ What he said.

    Unless you use bootcamp or Fusion/Parallels, that disc is worthless to you.
     
  4. macman4789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #4
    Sorry guys I forgot to mention yeah I'll be using it on bootcamp or vmware. I just want to know whether I can copy it first using OS X cos I have to give them the cd back and what speed read and write should I use?

    Thanks
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Yes, you can technically copy it.

    I'd recommend using a free program called Burn.
     
  6. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

    Gray-Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Pandora, Home Tree
  7. macman4789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #7
    Could I use whatever software is built into leopard to copy it?
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Yes, of course you can. Just open Disk Utility and make an image of it. Then you can burn the image back to a disk whenever (or even mount the image and use it in VMWare or Parallels to do the installation).
     
  9. macman4789 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007

Share This Page