Copying Sky Plus Content to Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by r3dt3ch, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. r3dt3ch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #1
    Does anyone have experience with transferring content recorded on Sky Plus to a Mac ?

    There appears to be a variety of solutions such as video cards, dvd recorders and even cracking open the Sky Plus box and accessing the hard drive. How do you do it?
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    You mean apart from the solutions you already found, and are probably uncomfortable doing?
     
  3. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #3
    Panasonic DVD-Recorder.

    Sky+ dumps the incoming sat signal to the HDD, and uses the viewing card to decode it when playing back. Unlike some Freeview/Freesat recorders it doesn't just dump MPEG2 to the disk that you can copy off.
     
  4. r3dt3ch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #4
    It's not a question of being comfortable. It's a question of peoples experience and deriving the best solution. Why do people respond to questions when they have nothing to offer? Ridiculous.

    ----------

    That's what I've read. Picking the files straight from the HDD would be apart of the most elegant solution, shame it can't be done. I imagine you go through quite a lot of DVDs doing it that way?
     
  5. MagicBoy macrumors 68040

    MagicBoy

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    The Panasonic also has an HDD so you can do some basic editing on the machine then transfer/archive off to DVD. I tend to use DVD-RAM or DVD-RW for transfers. ;)

    I didn't actually buy the DVR with this in mind. My apartment building only has a single LNB feed so they initially refused a few years back to install Sky+ as it needed a dual feed. I used the Panny with a standard Sky box which remotely woke the recorder when required. Now Sky+ works on single feed I've upgraded to Sky+ HD.
     

Share This Page