Copying Windows XP from a PC?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by redmac, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. redmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #1
    I know, it must be a silly question but I am still going to ask.

    Is there a way to copy the OS or the whole hard drive from a PC and use in a Mac under Bootcamp?

    I currently need Windows XP in order to work from home, but don't want to pay a ridiculous amount for something that I am only going to use for a few weeks. I noticed that the cheaper version of Acer Revo nettop PC comes loaded with Win XP and can be found for under $200. The downside is that I don't need the Revo for anything else and it may not be powerful enough for my work tasks. If there is a way to make a bootable copy of Win XP (as we do with Carbon Copy Clooner on Mac), I can actually copy the OS to my Mac and give the Revo to my in-laws so that they can use it as an HTPC.

    Does anyone think that it's possible?
     
  2. johnhw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
    I'm pretty sure you could do that via the latest version of VMWare Fusion, it converts the contents on the PC to a virtual disk. I'm not sure you could do that at bootcamp tho.
     
  3. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    Not possible.
     
  4. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #4
    If you manage to copy the XP disk onto the Mac the license key verification will fail. How are you expecting to get a new key? Microsoft isn't handling them out.
     
  5. johnhw macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #5
    [​IMG]

    You could do it via VMWare fusion, as what I've said, use the Migration Assistant that comes with VMWare..tho it costs 75 bucks, there is a 30-day trial so you could use XP for 4 weeks within the trial. ;)
     
  6. redmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    Thanks a lot for the tip. I will certainly consider this option.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Once you've got it as a VMWare VM, you could migrate that over to the free VirtualBox.

    B
     
  8. redmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #8
    After reading VMWare forums for a while, I noticed that people have been having difficulties copying their OEM versions of Windows. It seems like I can't copy the OS from a new PC unless I have the CD or the product key.

    It was too good to be true. Thanks anyway for all the help.
     

Share This Page