core 2 duo imacs run Lion OK?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Fank, May 10, 2012.

  1. Fank macrumors member

    Fank

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    OH USA
    #1
    My scenario -

    I have three intel core 2 duo imacs, one 17" blonde, one 20" blonde, and an aluminum. They all run just fine, thank you, in SL.

    The two older 'blonde' imacs have 2 gigs of ram; the aluminum 2 1/2 gigs.

    If I buy a 4 gig ram kit from macsales, for about $63, I can make all three imacs have 3 gigs of ram.

    Will my imacs be able to run Lion OK (without it bogging down)? I KNOW what the minimum system requirements are, 2 gigs of ram and a core 2 duo.
     
  2. PurrBall macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Charcoalwerks macrumors regular

    Charcoalwerks

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #3
    My Moms 2007 white iMac runs Lion fine with 2 gigs.
     
  4. product26 macrumors 6502a

    product26

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #4
    and your mom only checks her email, bank account and facebook right?
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    My 2.4 GHz 2008 iMac 24" runs Lion great. Wish I could add more than the 4gb max though.

    Actually can I get 6gb into this thing somehow?
     
  6. Spike88, May 10, 2012
    Last edited: May 10, 2012

    Spike88 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #6
    Upgrading each older iMac to its MAX memory is a good thing. SL (for average home users with NO gaming) seems to run best at minimum 6 GBs. Best meaning its System Memory stats is showing Swap File = 0 and Page Out = 0. Which means NO disk thrashing - which slows down the entire system.

    If SL is currently running great, then why upgrade to Lion (then ML this fall)? If it ain't broke, then why screw with it?
     
  7. fhall1 macrumors 68040

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    (Central) NY State of mind
    #7
    Mine (see sig) runs Lion fine - but at 8GB, I have installed the max RAM it'll take.
     
  8. peglegjack macrumors 6502

    peglegjack

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #8
    My 2007 2.4GHz iMac runs great on Lion, though I did add 6 GB of RAM.

    Suspect it'll do just as well with Mountain Lion too.
     
  9. bawbac macrumors 65816

    bawbac

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Core Duo ~= Mac Mini. It runs Lion just fine.
    You may need to maximize your RAM though since Lion is a RAM hog.
     
  10. Charcoalwerks macrumors regular

    Charcoalwerks

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Location:
    Maryland
    #10
    No she does a lot in iPhoto and Ps CS3. Nice ASSumption though.
     
  11. xplnusa macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #11
    My 09 C2D runs it great. I ran it with the original 4G until recently upgrading and it ran great the whole time.
     
  12. Fank thread starter macrumors member

    Fank

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    OH USA
    #12
    Thanks for the replies/input.

    Am considering upgrading for iCloud - in particular for my daughter's iMac and to sync with her iphone and 'new' ipad.

    I believe 4gigs is max ram for all three imacs.
     
  13. Nandifix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    #13
    4 gigs will work great as the current iMacs only come with 4gigs now. However the processor will stop you doing intensive things like video editing or gaming !
     
  14. Fank thread starter macrumors member

    Fank

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Location:
    OH USA
    #14
    Hmmm, the aluminum is used for some video editing, and Photoshop in CS5. Barely meets system requirements to run PS now.

    I've pretty much given up gaming on those imacs unless I'm playing FlatOut2 in bootcamp (driving game I used to play) or feeling nostalgic for Unreal Tournament.


    I also have a 3.06ghz imac if I want to run games. 8 gigs of ram. But that's my wife's imac.
     

Share This Page