core 2 duo or core duo?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by design-is, Jun 2, 2009.

  1. design-is macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #1
    I'm sure I've seen this before, but can't seem to find it.

    I'm looking into buying a second hand macbook pro to use as a home theatre system along with my drobo.

    Does playing ripped mkv files / 1080p HD movies require the power of a core 2 duo processor, or will a core duo do the trick?

    Obviously I want to spend as little as possible, and I can't get the latest kit because I want to output to s-video due to old TV tech (can't afford to upgrade everything at once)

    Thanks - Sorry if I've just been blind and missed it!

    /Doug
     
  2. Fizzoid macrumors 68020

    Fizzoid

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    Most of my 1080 mkv files play fine on my Core Duo MBP but there are a few that stutter badly, but they play fine on my mate's 2.4Ghz wMB so it must be the CPU not being up to the job
     
  3. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #3
    Ah ok, so it's a bit hit and miss?

    I don't want to end up spending a chunk of money on something that's not quite up to task.

    Thanks for the quick reply :O)
     
  4. Fizzoid macrumors 68020

    Fizzoid

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    It's definitely more hit than miss. Out of about 20+ films only 3 suffer from the stuttering. MBP is a 2Ghz Core Duo
     
  5. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #5
    I think I'll just have to save a few more ££ to et hold of one a bit more powerful to ensure future-proofing. I know I'll regret it if I have problems.
     
  6. Fizzoid macrumors 68020

    Fizzoid

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  7. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    I wondered, but new laptops don't output to s-video through the new hardware :(

    The older models share the same graphics chipset as the older minis and I've read they won't output correct resolutions for a 16:9 CRT tv without a lot of effort and trial and error.

    I think other than a mac pro or an iMac I'm restricted to a MacBook pro for technical reasons. And because I want something small like a mini or a laptop to sit nicely next to/underneath the tv unit.
     
  8. Cave Man macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #8
    It all depends on the bit rates of the files. Pretty much nothing else matters when you're talking CD vs. C2D. The cache will have a bit of an impact, but not much.
     
  9. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #9
    What about a new mac mini. It has a mini dvi out which take dvi, vga or s-video outputs, it also has the mini display port for future proofing, should be more than powerful enough for your needs, and cheaper than a good enough second hand mbp.
     
  10. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    I thought I'd read before on the forum that the new 9400m chipset on the minis wouldn't support a-video. If this isn't the case, a mini is definitely an option!

    Can anyone confirm whether the new minis support a-video out or not?

    Cheers

    /Doug
     
  11. rowsdower macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    #11
    According to Wikipedia:
     
  12. design-is thread starter macrumors 65816

    design-is

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Location:
    London / U.K.
    #12
    Thought so. Mini isn't an option in that case.

    Think I'm back to Mac Pro, iMac (due to getting aq screen as well), or the original MacBook Pro.

    Which really only leaves me with what I though :( I need a pre-unibody MacBook Pro or a new TV + a Mini.

    I think it will be better getting a MacBook Pro. Then it can be an emergency fully functional mac too - graphics included.

    Thanks for clarification rowsdower!
     
  13. yetanotherdave macrumors 68000

    yetanotherdave

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #13
    I would double check that, the mini has display port AND mini dvi outputs,
    apple also sell a mini-dvi -> s-video adaptor
    http://store.apple.com/us/product/M9319G/A?mco=NDcwODc4NA

    maybe phone their sales helpline, should be able to give you final confirmation.
     
  14. LERsince1991 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    I know that you've said its not much of an option but I would recommend waiting, saving up for the tv as well and then get a mini at the same time.

    In the past I know my set ups have suffered because of buying products at different times. Wasted a bit of money... most of it not mine though.

    I do, do a lot of research before buying things but even then everything just seems to go better and work better and last better if they are bought with each other. 'If your going to do something, do it properly first time'.
    A new TV is expensive but still relatively cheap... I guess I just like new stuff.

    Luke.
     

Share This Page