Core 2 Duo or i3?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Eric8199, Nov 30, 2010.

  1. Eric8199 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #1
    I'm getting a new iMac for Christmas. I'm planning on getting a refurb from Apple, as I can save a bit of money, and what I hear is they are just as good, if not better, than a brand new machine.

    My question: I can get the 21.5" with a Core 2 Duo processor and a 1TB hard drive, or an i3 with a 500GB hard drive.

    Aside from that, everything else is the same. The C2D is a little more expensive, but a bigger savings over retail. I will be doing photoshop work, design with Quark, some video editing, and likely some gaming on a Windows partition.

    What do you guys think? Should I get the more current i3, or go with the C2D to get the bigger hard drive.

    i3 is $1019 with 500GB
    C2D is $1099 with 1TB
     
  2. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #2
    what are the gpus for both? I'm leaning towards the i3.
     
  3. eatbacon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    #3
    You can buy a 1TB drive for roughly the price difference (even an external if you don't want to mess with installation). Go for the better CPU.
     
  4. Eric8199 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    #4
    Thanks. That's kind of what I was thinking. Don't really need the extra space at this time anyway, because the computer I'm replacing has a 250GB hard drive that isn't full.
     
  5. AlexisV macrumors 68000

    AlexisV

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #5
    i3 will give you better resale value in 3/4 year's time
     
  6. AlvinNguyen macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #6
    I would go with the i3 hands down! I had the exact 21.5 core duo with 1tb you mentioned and I recently got a 27" i3 as a replacement and its worlds apart. I can feel the performance difference noticeably. Plus, why not have the newest one possible - the core2duo intels are really dated now.
     
  7. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Storage can always be added, CPU speed cannot.
     
  9. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_1_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7E18 Safari/528.16)

    Agree with. Buy the highest spec machine you can in relation to CPU and graphics card. Everything else can be done with aftermarket purchases.
     
  10. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #10
    Incorrect. The CPU is easily upgraded.
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    I wouldn't say easily. Upgrading the CPU involves taking off the whole logic board. That's not something what I would consider easy, especially when compared to RAM upgrade which is considered to be an easy upgrade. Plus it voids warranty. You would also be stuck with the E8600 if you bought the C2D model, not much of an upgrade.
     
  12. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #12
    No more difficult than changing the hard drive.

    As does anything other than ram.
     
  13. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    Good luck with that...I would not have the confidence to do it.
     
  14. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
    Upgrading the HD does not involve removal of the whole logic board.

    Only if you damage something while doing it. However, the CPU has "warranty voided if removed" sticker on it, other components don't.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #15
    You technically don't void your warranty if you replace a hard drive or optical drive on the iMac and don't damage anything. If you ever find yourself needing service, you can just replace the original equipment it came with.

    The heat sink for the cpu however, has a warranty voided if removed sticker covering one of its screws.
     
  16. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #16
    Incorrect. The iMac is "non-user serviceable" which means it up to Apple if a self-upgrade is warranty voiding or not.
     
  17. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #17
    Apple won't know if your machine was upgraded or not if everything internally was the same as its factory conditions. That's why they have "warranty voided if removed" stickers on. ;)
     
  18. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #18
    Then there would be nothing upgraded! Der! I can tell you really put a lot of thought into that post.
     
  19. TMRaven macrumors 68020

    TMRaven

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #19
    I guess you didn't think of replacing your aftermarket HDD or SSD with the original HDD that came with the computer whenever you need it serviced.

    You really try your hardest to sound like a douche over the internet, huh?
     
  20. biggd macrumors 6502

    biggd

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Location:
    Calgary
    #20
    Core2Duo is lame sauce

    Wait till after Xmas ( and u have all your gifts and $) and score an Icore5
     
  21. jfyrfytr25 macrumors 6502a

    jfyrfytr25

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #21
    You make no sense. he is absolutely correct. In fact Steve Jobs made a comment to this affect in a Q & A awhile back. Said that users are free to upgrade all they want as long as no damage is done while doing it. The warranty is not voided with the act of changing the hard drive. It is voided when you break off a cable clip when re-placing the display.


    Also, your logic and his differs in one way. If you replace the original HD before taking it to apple, then there is no upgrade and all is well, (as you said)

    However, your point was that a CPU swap voids the warranty like any other upgrade. The difference is, with that sticker, even if you replace the original chip before servicing they wil still know and therefore VOID!!!!
     

Share This Page