Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

atkobeau

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 20, 2011
Hello, I'm learning Objective C for iPhone development.

Does anyone have any examples of using NSDecimalNumber with Core Data? because my background is java and not c, I'm struggling to take a string from a UITextField, convert it to NSDecimalNumber, put it in Core Data, pull it back out later and put it in a UILabel :confused:

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
... I'm struggling to take a string from a UITextField, convert it to NSDecimalNumber, put it in Core Data, pull it back out later and put it in a UILabel :confused:

Which of those steps is the problem?

The breakdown into those steps seems reasonable, so I'm guessing the problem must be with a specific step.

What documentation have you looked at, especially for conversions?

If the problem is with how it's stored in Core Data, have you considered storing it as a string, and only converting to/from NSDecimalNumber when you use it as a number?

atkobeau

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 20, 2011
Well I'm pretty sure that something is being put into the core data but I don't think it's the correct decimal value, when I pull it out again and convert it into a string so I can see it, I'm getting a null value, so I think its the intial conversion from the textfield that is going wrong.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
Post your code. We can't debug descriptions or suppositions ("I'm pretty sure...", "I think...", etc.).

What have you tried to debug the code?

If you suspect problems before storing data, what have you done to examine values before storing them?

The obvious thing is to NSLog() the string, the number, and anything else relevant (like whether the textfield itself is nil). If you have NSLog() output, post it.