Core duo 2.2ghz MBP and lion?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Desmondtutu, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. Desmondtutu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #1
    I'm considering upgrading my newly refurbed MBP from 10.5 to lion, can anyone advise if this is a good move with regards to speed/performance etc?

    Also I edit using final cut express 4, will this work with lion or will I have to get final cut x (which I have read is dreadful) and if so has anyone had any problems running it on an older MBP?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Gomff macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #2
    I suspect a lot will depend on how much memory your machine has. You'll want a minimum of 4 GB but preferably 8 for the sort of thing that you're talking about.

    Final Cut express does (surprisingly) run in Lion. You won't notice a performance boost and Lion does tend to be more memory hungry but as long as you have enough RAM you should be OK.
     
  3. Desmondtutu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #3
    Hi,

    I have the standard 2gig of RAM, to be honest it's only something I'm considering as it does what I need just fine and I will at some point get another mac primarily for editing, also I'm unsure on final cut x as it just looks like iMovie with a few extras. I quite liked the idea of the new operating system but in reality it's only appearance that is difference eh? I was just wondering how it runs with regards to speed etc .
     
  4. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #4
    Lion will not run very well on your older core duo machine. The system requirements even mention that it will run only on core 2 duo and older systems. Your 2GB's of RAM will really be pushing it as far as usability goes.
     
  5. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #5
    I'd say skip it.

    I'm running it on a 2.4 c2d with four gigs of ram...just an FYI, lion takes about 800 Meg's more of ram on boot, and frankly without multitouch, there aren't a huge amounts of benefit.

    If you already use resource heavy apps like final cut, your just cutting into those resources by running lion IMO.

    I certainly wouldn't even consider it without a ram upgrade, and even then, I personally don't think it's worth it...

    Clean system lion takes 1-1.2 gigs of ram for just the OS.
     
  6. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #6
    The OP is already maxed out on RAM for that model.
     
  7. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
    #7
    Core2duo maxed at 4gb officially. I believe you are incorrect here.

    I'm using a mid 2k7 Santa rosa machine which can actually use 6
     
  8. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    It won't install..its a core duo not core2duo..i.e. 32bit processor..
     
  9. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #9
    There were no Core Duo 2.2GHz so its a Core 2 Duo and yes Lion will install on it but with 2GB of RAM you will struggle. Try to get to 3 or 4GB at the very least or go for Snow Leopard instead...or just sit tight with Leopard.
     
  10. h00ligan macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    A hot desert
  11. Sirolway macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #11
    I'd also be inclined to do a clean install rather than upgrade - give your Mac every chance of running as fast as its short little legs will go.

    I have a mid-2009 13" MBP - 2.26 Core 2 Duo. Lion runs fine. I started on 4GB & upgraded to 8 but haven't noticed any difference - 4GB was enough (I know some will disagree..)
     
  12. Desmondtutu thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #12
    My apolgies it's a core 2 duo, though this thread has made my mind up not to upgrade, thanks all for the input.
     
  13. ericDylan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    #13
    I upgraded my Air with 1.86 C2D with 2GB of RAM. It runs flawlessly--no lag at all. It sounds like, other than the SSD, your system seems more powerful than mine.

    You should definitely be fine. I would say, if you are apprehensive, you should look at the upgrades to see if they are worth the risk(which, I think, are nonexistent ;))
     

Share This Page