Core i5 or Core i7 for my needs

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Frogy, May 19, 2010.

1. Frogy macrumors newbie

Hey all,

Im going to be purchasing a MBP 15" before the summer and I am wondering which one to get. I am a film editor and work with HD video in Final Cut and wil do some After Effects (Not so much animation just effects for video footage)

Now I was all set to spend the extra money on a core i7 with the 512mb graphics card.. but then i found the forum about people saying their core i7's freeze so much. I am going to be spending a lot of time editing and if you edit you know you cant have a single minute to wast waiting for your machine to start working again.

Now I think you just have to be lucky and get a core i7 computer that wont freeze, but would it be safer to just go for the core i5 and save the money? will i really need a stronger processor and graphics card for what im doing?

My main concern is about these freezing issues ive read about. If it wasnt for that I would go for the i7 no questions asked

Thanks

2. I'mAMac macrumors 6502a

I'mAMac

Well for video editing the i7 will definitely give you better performance than the i5. The graphics card memory won't matter much because the 330M can't make use of all 512mb anyway.

I wouldn't worry so much about the freezing because people aren't going to post on the forums that their i7's aren't freezing as much as those who are.

If you want more info http://www.brighthub.com/computing/hardware/articles/48391.aspx

3. TxMacAddict macrumors 6502

If the i7's were freezing there would be a lot of new threads from actual users.. I haven't seen any. Where are they? My i7 hasn't froze once and I switch my gpus with gfxcardstatus.

4. Frogy thread starter macrumors newbie