CoreData - newbie needs help

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by LostInTheTrees, Dec 16, 2011.

1. LostInTheTrees macrumors newbie

I'm new to the Apple dev environment, but have decades of dev experience. Steep learning curve! I am wiring though the Locations example, but have run into t road block. The Locations example has not been updated (AFAIK) for iOS 5, but I seem to be negotiating the differences OK. I keep getting this error:

uncaught exception 'NSInternalInconsistencyException', reason: '+entityForName: could not locate an NSManagedObjectModel for entity name 'Event''

I have found several instances of this question and have checked the things suggested. The most detailed was from a suggestion to check context.persistentStoreCoordinator.managedObjectModel.entities to see if the MOC has been created. I get a count of one from this collection and I have one entity defined, Event. So it would seem I have instantiated the MOC.

The main code I have written is in the AppDelegate. It is listed below. These three functions appear to run correctly. As soon as I exit from didFinishLaunchingWithOptions, the app crashes with the exception. The URL created for the MOM is //localhost/Users/bob/Library/Application%20Support/iPhone%20Simulator/5.0/Applications/9189FD66-7C27-4B2E-9FA6-199361342EDC/Locations.app/Locations.momd/

I have scattered a few breakpoints around my rootViewController and those are not getting hit, so I am not sure where the code is going after didFinishLaunching... exits. The MOM looks correct and the name is not misspelled AFAIK.

May main question is what am I doing wrong?
    Second, I follow that URL and I find no Library under /Users/bob. Are there hidden directories? Is this the problem?
    Third, when I exit didFinishLaunching... I am in assembly code. Is there any easy way to get the debugger to stop on the next source code it enters, or do I have to plant breakpoints in the right place?

Thanks in advance,
    -Bob

Code: