Correct intel Xeon 3.33GHz 6-core for 2012 3.2 quad Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cueboyzn, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. cueboyzn macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #1
    Hi, I just bought the quad-core 3.2 [mid 2012] Mac Pro a month ago, and I want to get the 3.33 Hex (6-core) Intel processor so I can upgrade the processor in a couple of years.

    Please can anyone help with a link to the exact model processor that I need to buy? I think I have a good idea which one (see photo) but I want to be 100% sure first before I decide to spend $600+ on a processor upgrade.

    Also what does it mean when it says a processor is 'unlocked'? Is this necessary for the processor to work in the Mac Pro as an upgrade to the OEM processor?

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1375620539.111808.jpg
     
  2. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #2
    Xeon W3680 is the one to use.

    'Unlocked' refers to overclocking, I believe. I don't think that really applies to the Mac, though. That's a PC thing.

    There is only one 3680 out there, as far as I know. It should work.
    That's the one Apple uses.
     
  3. MacMilligan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #3
    I would make sure its not a Engineering Sample, just to be on the safe side.
     
  4. Studio K macrumors 6502

    Studio K

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Location:
    United States
    #4
    He won't get stuck with an engineering sample if he buys a retail, boxed CPU like the one he linked to.
    If he tries for a used one, there is certainly some risk of that.
     
  5. cueboyzn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #5
    Thanks for the replies. So how do I go about making sure it's genuine brand new CPU and not engineering sample?
    As I said I will be purchasing to keep aside for a future upgrade when the machine is outside warranty, so I need to be sure it's the genuine article.
     
  6. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #6
    Buy your CPU new; I got mine from Provantage for just under $600 shipped.
     
  7. MacMilligan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #7
    I can't tell what website he is on in that image. It may show a retail box but I'd make sure the print says it too. The only way to be sure is to either get a sealed retail box or check the lid. It should not have an ES or Intel Confidential anywhere on the lid. Half the chips on eBay are ES chips.
     
  8. spacedcadet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    #8
    Intel Xeon X5680 3.33ghx 6 core

    Has anyone successfully got this part to work in the single processor 2010 Mac Pro?

    I believe it is the part used in the dual processor Mac Pros? It's listed on the MacSales OWC Turnkey program in any case.

    It sometimes comes up cheaper than the W3680...
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    The prices of CPUs always drops as later models with new features and new socket types are introduced. So, if it were me, I would wait on this purchase until you are ready.

    As far as warranty goes, I have always modified my stuff, cars, electronics, and etc when I wanted to, and have never waited for a warranty to expire before I did it. They're my toys, and I'll do what I want with them. If there is a problem with the equipment I modified, the manufacturer or manufacturer's rep has to prove that my modification was the culprit that caused the problem.

    With that said, I've had my new Mac Pro 5,1 a little over a month now, and last night I ordered a 2 new CPUs for it. I plan on the transplant when they arrive.

    As far as the X5680 is concerned, it is my understanding that CPU is meant for a Dual processor machine. As has been stated earlier, the W3680 is the one you want for a Single processor model.

    Lou
     
  10. cueboyzn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #10
    Yeah I am wanting the W3680 6-core 3.33 chip as per what I included in my opening post, I just wanted to ensure that it's the right one before I bought it. The reason I would wait until its out of the warranty period is because it's a work computer but I will buy it from the company I work for in a few years, and I want it to be lasting me a while. Hence I want to upgrade the chip when the time comes, and also probably the graphics card as well.
     
  11. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #11
    OK, I guess I understand what you're trying to do. May I ask what you are using for a home computer now? And also, not to sound negative and I don't know who you work for, but what if:

    The Company goes bankrupt?
    The Company is bought out?
    You get laid off or fired?
    You find that dream job, and leave?

    Just things I thought of, there must be a bunch of others. Just remember the old idiom:

    "the best laid plans of mice and men often go astray"

    Lou
     
  12. mcfx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Location:
    US
    #12
    Engineering samples are genuine CPUs. Those from Intel have "Intel Confidential" written on the heat spreader (not "ES" or "Engineering Sample")
    All engineering samples are pre-production units used in house for validation or customer sampling. It is unfortunate when these units end up for sale on auction websites, I really pity those getting caught "smuggling" them out.

    Legal issues aside, they may not perform up to spec (bugs/erratas) and may cause interference with other components (FCC testing is done on released products only).
     
  13. chris.k macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Location:
    YSSY
    #13
    Note: If this deal falls through, or you decide to wait - for a few dollars more you can also get a:

    W3690 6-core 3.46 Ghz Xeon chip.

    Same as the W3680, just slightly faster.
     
  14. cueboyzn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #14
    Thanks for this info :)
     
  15. sbarton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    #15
    You can use an i7-980x or i7-990x as well. Same processor and features minus ECC ram which you don't need anyway, plus you'll get a small bump in performance without it. I saw a 990x on my local craigslist recently for $200 so if you run across a good deal, jump on it.
     
  16. cueboyzn thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    #16
    I think rather than risk an i7, I will go with what's been tried and proven to work. I live in South Africa and so the prices are not cheap taking into account the rate of exchange. I would hate to make the wrong decision.
     
  17. sbarton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    #17
    Theres no more "risk" than a xeon. It's been used by countless on this forum including myself.
     
  18. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #18
    i7 has been tried and proven to work.

    On the other hand, I think the cost savings are dubious since they are priced almost identically and you may have to replace all of your RAM with non-ECC RAM.
     
  19. sbarton macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    #19
    The i7-980x is almost always at least $200 cheaper than a W3680 on fleabay and sometimes I see them for even less. I've never had ECC ram not work in a non-ECC system, at least thats been my experience with Apple OEM and OWC ram. Just throwing it out there for anyone who might be on a budget.
     
  20. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #20
    Also, IIRC, the i7 you guys are referencing only works in single CPU systems. I don't believe they will work in Dual systems. Just throwing it out there, so as not to confuse those with dual CPU systems. The know the OP has a single CPU system, so he would be OK with the i7

    Lou
     
  21. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #21
    I just slapped a W3690 into a single core CPU tray I had for my 2009.

    As much of a PITA as the Dual CPU 2009 upgrade was, this was like getting out of bed in the morning, or breathing.

    CRAZY EASY.

    Less than 10 minutes end to end.

    Key is to have pre-flashed the 4,1 into 5,1.

    From Quad 2.6 to Hex 3.46 in 10 minutes.

    My RAM was 1333 as well so it just jumped in speed.

    The 3690 was a used ES pull on EBay for $500.

    Solid so far.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #22
    do you spackle, line method or pea shape the thermal paste on your pro?
     
  23. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #23
    I thin it as much as possible to create least build up. Spread thin with finger, mash down any projections/bumps.

    The 2.66 5620 I pulled out showed poor application, globed up on one side, missing on other.
     
  24. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #24
    ^^^^The method I used was to put a thin line on the CPU and spread it with one of those plastic food store key chain things that you scan at the check out counter. It will spread edge to edge, smooth out any bumps, and if necessary remove any excess.

    Lou
     

Share This Page