iPhone Correct me if I'm wrong...

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by Z8beema, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Z8beema macrumors 6502

    Z8beema

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Mass.
    #1
    But there's no way to take a panorama in landscape mode on the native camera app right? I just don't understand why there isn't a way to do this. IMO it makes a lot more sense to take a panorama landscape rather than portrait.
     
  2. GreyOS, Jan 28, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014

    GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #2
    What's your specific need that you think landscape will fulfil?

    The reason it's done in portrait is so that it's the maximum resolution possible.

    e.g. Say a panorama is 4:1 (4 times wider than it is tall). The sensor on the iPhone in landscape is 4:3. If you add two landscapes together, that's 8:3. Add a third, that's 12:3, or 4:1. So you can think of the panorama as made of 3 8 megapixel photos (if iPhone 5). Now if it was portrait, the sensor is 3:4. 2 pics side by side = 6:4, 3 = 9:4, 4 =12:4, 5 = 15:4. A little bit more will make 16:4 which is 4:1. So a panorama of the same aspect ratio is made of 3 photos if done in landscape and 5 and a bit photos if done portrait. The latter method has more detail.
     
  3. Stuke00 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Location:
    Collinsville,IL
    #3
    Have you even taken a panorama picture.........?

    Based on your post, it sounds like you haven't.
     
  4. white4s macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    agreed. panorama doesn't need landscape mode
     
  5. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #5
    It might seem like it might be more convenient somehow, but it's actually not as practical nor as good.
     
  6. Z8beema thread starter macrumors 6502

    Z8beema

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Location:
    Mass.
    #6
    Thanks for the comment it was very helpful.

    P.s. Yah I have

    ----------

    Second most helpful comment on this forum goes to you... Thanks a bunch

    ----------

    In all seriousness thank you for your comment it now makes a lot more sense to me. I just found it easier to take a panorama with an older phone I had and personally think taking any picture in landscape feels better in the hands rather than taking it in portrait. It makes a lot of sense though to get the maximum resolution
     
  7. charlituna macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    No there is not. The reason is because of the additional UI to guide you through taking a panorama photo. It has to go somewhere. And since by its nature a panorama is an extended landscape mode photo anyway how you shoot it is a tad moot.
     
  8. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #8
    Hmm the ui would fit either way. It's to do with the sensor.
     

Share This Page