Correct memory not showing up

Discussion in 'iMac' started by macher, Nov 29, 2013.

  1. macher macrumors 6502a

    macher

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    #1
    Hi I completely restored my iMac. I added 2GB memory a while ago making the unit 4GB. It then showed 4GB in about Mac. After the restore when I go to about Mac it is only showing 2GB memory. So I'm not sure what is going on and how to fix this.

    Appreciate some help. Thanks!
     
  2. macthefork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    #2
    You would need to describe exactly what you mean by "restored." New/Refurbished Logic Board? LCD/LED panel? New/Refurbished GPU? New memory sticks or old? New HDD? What year/model iMac... etc...
     
  3. macher thread starter macrumors 6502a

    macher

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    #3
    I restored the whole unit as new, wiped everything out.
     
  4. parapup macrumors 65816

    parapup

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #4
    Remove the memory and reseat it. That often time fixes this type of issues.
     
  5. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  6. macthefork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013

Share This Page