Corsair vs. Kingston in new 27" i7

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Adam2670, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. Adam2670 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #1
    Same price, I've always gone Kingston in the past and saw some guys here having speed issues with corsair, what do you guys think?

    Going into my BTO maxed out 27", ordered with 8gb to save $250
    On the rediculous apple pricing...
     
  2. Gelite55, Dec 25, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012

    Gelite55 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #2
    Okay here's the deal.

    The new Corsair CL9 memory on amazon uses a different voltage than the stock memory (1.35v vs 1.50v).

    If you fill all the slots with the Amazon Corsair memory you'll be fine (32GB) and run at 1600Mhz. But if you want to mix and match (with the stock Apple memory) you have to buy Crucial memory for everything to run in sync and at 1600Mhz.

    Personally, what I might do and think is the best solution, just get 16GB of Crucial. That makes 24GB of RAM combined with the Stock 8GB RAM. This is more than anybody really needs right now.
     
  3. Adam2670 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #3
    Is that the dual voltage crucial 16gb kit for $79? Out of stock sadly but if that's the right one I may just do the same when they come back in stock!
     
  4. Gelite55 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    #4
  5. Adam2670 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
  6. oldgeezer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Location:
    Maryland
    #6
    I added 16gb of OWC memory in mine for a total of 24gb. A few bucks more but runs like a champ at 1600 mhz.
     
  7. nagareru macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    #7
    I double that. 32gb here from owc waiting to be loaded into my new imac.
     
  8. Brian Wilson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #8
    . Me Too!!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. vingi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Location:
    NL
    #9
    4x8 Gb Kingston KTA-MB1600/8G in my new iMac here, and functioning fine @1600 MHz.
    Geekbench score @32 bit: 13,126

    Doubt it makes much of a difference what brand you use.
     

Share This Page