Corsair XMS3 Classic 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1333MHz for MacPro 2009?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tysusmed, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. Tysusmed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #1
    I'm curious if anyone with a MacPro 2009 has had any issues with Corsair ram.

    Here's the spec's on the ram I'm thinking about purchasing (Corsair XMS3 Classic 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 1333MHz ):
    http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_info.php?cPath=24_311_312_611&item_id=050749

    I realize it's not ECC, but I'm not willing to pay $1200 to Apple, I can't find a store that sells Crucial near me, and am in a bit of a jam and can't wait for OCW to ship.

    I'm running Adobe After Effects, Cinema 4D, and Photoshop so I'm hoping the non-ecc isn't going to create any issues.

    Oh, there's also some great deals 1600MHz - I realize my CPU is only rated for 1066MHz, and the ram will clock lower, but will work OOB?


    Cheers!
     
  2. chiefroastbeef, Aug 8, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012

    chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #2
    I too have a 2009 Nehalem, and I am using 2x4gb sticks of Corsair XMS3 with 2x8GB Corsair ValueSelect ram. Everything working fine with mountain lion, running Final Cut Studio, CS6, Aperture, etc.

    The computer will just clock it down to 1066.

    That link is such a good deal... I am paying way too much here in Hong Kong.. sign..
     
  3. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    it's fine to use non-ECC ram, as long as you dont mix with ECC ram
     
  4. Tysusmed thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    #4
    Thanks for the replies!

    Looks like I'm off to buy some new ram today!

    Cheers
     
  5. Garnick macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #5
    I'll be purchasing a refurb 2010 Mac Pro soon and filling it with RAM. I've been planning on buying from OWC, but for various reasons I'd like to keep it here in Canada, and the aforementioned Corsair 32GB arrangement is looking pretty good right about now. Not sure about the quality/reliability of this product, so I'd like to get some input on that if possible. One reason for using a local vendor is of course the possibility of issues and returns etc. I have 2 Canada Computer outlets rather close, so that wouldn't be a problem. Also, the ECC reference was definitely a big help. What I'm not sure of is the viability of filling all 4 slots, since apparently the MP utilizes the RAM better in a 3 module configuration. However, I think that might also depend on the app in use and the number of apps running at any one time, not sure.

    Any ideas on this would be very much appreciated. Also opinions on the Corsair product in general, vs other alternatives.

    Thank you.
     
  6. chiefroastbeef macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
    #6
    The Corsair XM3 ram in my Mac Pro has been doing well, no complaints, I would say just get it, and get 4 sticks. Don't worry about the 3 module thing.

    Corsair has a good reputation for the most part, no problems there.
     
  7. Ironjer, Jul 18, 2013
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2013

    Ironjer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    #7
    Works Good

    :cool::apple:

    4 Sticks CMX8GX3M1A1333C9 Corsair XMS3 DDR3 1333 Mhz 8GB = 32GB (down clock to 1066 Mhz by CPU specification) working good in Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 Firmware and CPU W3670 here we go:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page