Could anybody please give me some advice on stopmotion proj using imovie/istopmotion?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by lia77, Mar 8, 2011.

1. lia77 macrumors member

Hello everyone!

I am wondering if somebody could help me. For the last 3 months I have been working on creating an animated stopmotion film. I have created the real 3D sets, done the clay figures and shot the still images. As I am not very good with computers and all the settings that there are, I just imported every single image from iPhoto into Imovie and changed the time lapse for each image to 0,2 and that´s how I created the animated film. It looks good, but since the film is now over 5 min long, the software (or can it be my computer?)get´s really slow. Sometimes I can´t even watch the video, and definitely not in the full size mode, just on a small video image in imovie.
    I am getting really stressed about this now since I have put so much work into it and just want to finish the project (maybe add another 2 more min) and export it to a dvd with as good quality as possible.

I started to read about imovie and discovered it isn´t supposed to be used for stopmotion. So.. I just got istopmotion and did a small test reimporting just onescene, then trying to export it, and importing it into imovie (i like using imovie because of all the possibilities of playing around with contrasts and colors)
    But now the quality of the images looks really bad. It isn´t at all as sharp as before. I have tried so many different settings while exporting from istopmotion, but it doesn´t seem to make much difference. I am working in 4:3 ration, and the best option seems to be HD ( but in 16:9 only) so that doesnt seem to work.

Does anybody have any advice for me?
    Should I use a completely different software for this and start from scratch?
    Or is there maybe just some small trick that I am missing??

I would be very thankful for help!

Lia

2. zblaxberg Guest

zblaxberg