Could I install a dev preview of OS X 10.0 on a New World G4?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by JackMacWindows, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. JackMacWindows macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Location:
    Power Planet G4
    #1
    Hello,
    I like playing around with old versions of operating systems. About five years ago, I got a 533MHz Power Mac G4 (Digital Audio, Early 2001) to play with 10.0-10.4 on. I then installed OS 9 to mess with more.
    I recently downloaded and burned a copy of Mac OS X Public Beta to be used on that Power Mac, but I discovered that it could not be booted. I have been looking if there is a solution, but I have found only for Blue & White G3's. I saw in a post here that you need to modify the kernel. If you do, is there a way to do that? Or do I have to just not run Kodiak on it?

    Here are some specs to show the Mac (I modified the version name in SystemVersion.plist):
    pmg4spec.jpg
     
  2. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #2
    The Mac OS X Public Beta is very picky about hardware, the newest system I've been able to boot it on is a Gigabit Ethernet G4 and only with the Rage 128 GPU installed. The Digital Audio G4 was released after Mac OS X Public Beta so I'm not surprised it doesn't work.
     
  3. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #3
    I use a Power Mac G3 (B&W) 300 MHz with ATi Rage 128 for the dev previews of Mac OS X (DP 2 and DP 3)
    IMHO, I think it wil be easiest to obtain such a Mac.. must be cheap!
     
  4. bunnspecial macrumors 603

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #4
    Agreed on the Gigabit. PB works very well on them, while it's touchy on the DA.

    Just remember that it's time bombed-I think your clock has to be set to before Dec. 31st 2001 for it to boot.

    Strangely enough, I've found PB to be a lot less picky about hardware than 10.0. I can run it fine on my Gigabit Ethernet with a 2MX and a decent amount of RAM. I had to use a single 128mb Apple OEM stick along with a Rage 128 to get 10.0 to install.

    I also agree about a B&W for DPs. I have a B&W that's dedicated to 1-4 along with a couple of versions of OS X server. The key with those also is to keep the hardware basic-a Rage 128 and a couple of high quality sticks of RAM(preferably Apple OEM if you have them) will keep things going nicely.
     
  5. JackMacWindows thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Location:
    Power Planet G4
    #5
    I am able to boot to 10.0, so the beta may work.
    I did not know that, I'll try resetting the clock.
     
  6. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #6
    10.0 was built when the Digital Audio G4 was current, it should work fine. Not true of the Public Beta though.
     

Share This Page