Could I rockbox an iPod Classic 160GB?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by php111, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. php111 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    #1
    Hey! I have the iPod Classic 160GB and I am not sure the model number or what gen it is but does it support rockbox? Or no?
     
  2. Lachhh macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Location:
    Mainland Europe
    #2
    Nope, there doesn't seem to be Rockbox firmware available for your model.
    According to their website, stable firmware for iPod Classics go up to the 5th gen. Yours (being 160gb in capacity) is newer than the Classics they support.

    There doesn't even appear to be an unstable port available for your model, unfortunately.
     
  3. php111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    #3

    Thank you for replying! I'll leave my iPod on the stock firmware.
     
  4. php111 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    #5
  5. repentix macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2013
    #6
    No problem :)
     
  6. mark-1978 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    #7
    powersaving rockbox on ipod classic 6th gen 160gb thick

    I tried a 'factory reset' on the rockbox software, seems it improved batterylife for much.
     

Share This Page