iPad Pro Could not activate Best Buy iPad Pro on Verizon

Discussion in 'iPad' started by stflush, Jul 1, 2017.

  1. stflush macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #1
    Has anyone else had trouble activating a new pro model on Verizon? I purchased a 12.9 64gb cellular from BB Sunday but was never able to get it activated on Verizon's network. Verizon said the IMEI was not in their system. I called Apple and they said some models will not work on Verizon's network but could not tell me why. They told me to work with BB cellular department and they would know what to do. Spent over an hour at BB this morning with no luck. BB said it was the correct Verizon model but could not get anywhere either (working with Verizon). This was using two different Verizon SIM cards. They did not have another one in stock that wasn't gold, so I eventually gave up, returned it and ordered a WiFi version from BB's website. I didn't have to have cellular data, but for those that do I wouldn't recommend buying from BB right now if you are with Verizon.
     
  2. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #2
    Do you have a Verizon store near you? I had a similar issue when I switched my iPhone from T-Mobile to Verizon, where the Verizon SIM card I got from Apple didn’t work, but I took it to the Verizon store and they were able to get it activated with another SIM.

    Edit: You don’t really need a Verizon model either. The one I picked up yesterday was just one with the Apple SIM, but they gave me a Verizon SIM at pickup. I swapped them out and it worked fine.
     
  3. stflush thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #3
    I had a spare unused SIM in there first, then used a new one from BB today. SIM cards did not matter, Verizon would not move forward after I gave them the IMEI every time (three different phone calls plus at BB today). Verizon said it was not a compatible device.
     
  4. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #4
    And this was on one sold as a Verizon model?

    As I said, I didn’t get a carrier specific model. So the Apple store gave me a Verizon SIM. I popped the tray out, added the SIM and soon as I did Verizon SIM card showed up as an option under Cellular Data. From there I was able to click Manage Verizon Account and add the new iPad. It was simple.

    But when we switched our phones over, the porting didn’t go so well for mine. My wife’s phone went over right away, but Verizon service guy went through 3 or 4 SIM cards trying to get mine over for some reason. It just kept giving him errors and wouldn’t activate. Eventually through the help of calling the Verizon mother ship he managed to do it eventually :)
     
  5. stflush thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #5
    Yes, I asked for a Verizon model, and BB today told me this was the correct one. The first time I called Apple they told me it should not matter because they are all unlocked, but the second time I got a different answer (explained above). I did exactly what you described after putting in the Verizon SIM, but it would not connect to the network.
     
  6. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #6
    Try an unlocked, non-carrier specific one, rather than a Verizon specific one and a new card and see what you get. Had no problem with mine, albeit a 512 version 12.9 vs 64, but that shouldn't matter.
     
  7. stflush thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #7
    I understand, but there were no non-gold cellular models that I wanted in stock at BB around me, and I had points to use and didn't really need cellular so I ordered a WiFi model from their website instead. If I had to have a cell data model I would have kept trying other options. Just a strange problem that I couldn't get a clear answer to.
     
  8. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #8
    That is a weird one for sure. You have 14 days, actually probably longer through Best Buy. Since you mention points, I assume your a Premium Member. If you change your mind inside the return period, you could always revisit the issue with a different one I suppose and hope it goes better. Maybe something Verizon needs to update?

    Apple was having some issues with selling me mine. They only had a gold one listed in stock, but I decided to go into the store and just ask and they had a space gray. The problem is even though he had it right in his hand and was trying to scan it, it said they didn't have one to sell. Eventually they got it sorted out.

    Hopefully Verizon will as well.
     
  9. onepoint macrumors 6502a

    onepoint

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    Did you take the iPad to a VZW brick and mortar store? Once customer service noted your account with the IMEI issue I imagine you’ll get canned responses from them unless you escalate the issue via phone.

    VZW disables the built-in Apple SIM in iPads purchased directly from them, and forces the use of physical SIMs. It’s probably a hiccup related to that.
     
  10. stflush thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2017
    #10
    I first worked with a Winback rep who claimed they submitted a request to have the IMEI added to the database (on Tuesday). They never got back with me, and never responded to an email a few days later asking for an update. Then I worked with telesales and then tech support. Tech support said they would submit the request again but were very skeptical it would work. Based on that I called Apple again. That rep talked to a senior advisor and came back saying they had paperwork on it being a known issue and told me to return the device for a different one. But they couldn't tell me how I would know if one would work. I'm not familiar with your personal experiences in a Verizon store but based on my own I considered it a waste of time to make a trip there. Everything I researched and per the feedback above, both SIM cards seemed to be working as expected other than mot connecting to the network. The iPad recognized both as Verizon cards and changed the cellular settings to reflect such.
     
  11. onepoint macrumors 6502a

    onepoint

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    Generally, my experiences dealing with service providers in-person are exponentially more productive than e- or tele-interactions.
     
  12. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    mcpryon2

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #12
    I had problems activating my Verizon 12.9". The whole ordering process was a mess. Long story short, after three hours on the phone they finally got it activated. The problem that created was that one of the reps essentially canceled my original one and made a new order and then was able to activate it, so now I have a new order processing on my account and I can't get anybody to make it go away. This was on top of them somehow losing my original order even though I had a receipt.

    I would have just returned it but I've got a video shoot coming up and we need it as a piece to our production puzzle. I've had some bad experiences with Verizon, like the iPhone 5s I got new which had the SIM card die on day 16 and they had to replace the phone with a refurb, but didn't refund me anything for the difference. From my experience they don't go out of their way to compensate customers. I was able to get a line access discount on my plan because of this latest fiasco, though. Their service is just so much better than the competition in my area that I don't really have a choice. And they know it.
     
  13. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #13
    McPyron did you also purchase a Verizon specific model that you had trouble activating? I just picked up one of the non-specific 12.9 models with the Apple embedded LTE and setting it up for use with Verizon could not have been simpler. My steps were...

    1) Insert the Verizon SIM card that the Apple Store provided me into the carrier tray. Looking at Cellular it now showed Verizon and gave me the options to set up plans or add to my existing one.

    2) Fired up the Verizon app on my iPhone and used the option to add a new device.

    3) Scanned the IMEI barcode from the back of the iPad box with the phone when requested

    4) Scanned the SIM card ID barcode from the SIM packaging (credit card) when asked.

    5) Got a successfully added device message and was told to reboot my iPad

    6) iPad rebooted and connected to Verizon and I received a message that it was successfully added.

    That was it. Took maybe 5 minutes from from firing the app up to rebooting.
     
  14. mcpryon2 macrumors 6502

    mcpryon2

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #14
    Yeah, I actually got it from Verizon. I couldn't activate it myself and it took three (I think) reps on the phone to get it figured out. They had to do something on their end to get it activated since there was no record of my iPad in their system. It's surprising how much the first tier reps don't know.

    It sounds like my case is unique because I've always activated devices successfully by myself before that. Something happened in the ordering process that caused it.
     
  15. SDColorado macrumors 65816

    SDColorado

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Location:
    Highlands Ranch, CO
    #15
    It seems a bit odd that the non carrier specific iPad Pro's may be easier to activate on Verizon than the carrier specific ones. Sounds like something got lost in translation and records didn't get updated properly?
     

Share This Page