could not create a preboot volume for APFS install

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Gatt, May 2, 2018.

  1. Gatt, May 2, 2018
    Last edited: May 2, 2018

    Gatt macrumors newbie

    Gatt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    #1
    Hello, I wanted to reformat and do a fresh install of macOS High Sierra as i will be giving the mac to my sister.

    My process was Going to the CMD+ R screen

    Going to Disk Utilities

    -Erasing Macintosh HD

    -Rebooting and going back to CMD+R screen again

    -Clicking on install macOS

    -Clicking on install High Sierra

    -Once the process reached 100%, I got the error “could not create a preboot volume for APFS install”

    Now I am unable to install a macOS any help please? iam using MacBook Air 2017? also i tried to change Maconitsh HD to Mac extended Journal instead but i dont have that option just all AFPS related.
    here is a pictures from the disk utility http://ibb.co/nCQTYn

    thanks!
     
  2. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  3. Gatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gatt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    #3
    same error
     
  4. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  5. Gatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gatt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    #5
    Which partition do you want me to try to delete?
     
  6. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #6
    If using the High Sierra disk utility, click on all devices, and try staying every partition first to see if that helps.
     
  7. Gatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gatt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    #7
    the only thing i was able to delete is "Macintosh HD" when i try to delete "container disk1 or apple SSD SMG 0128 Media" the "-" sign is greyed out
     
  8. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #8
    Do you have access to another Mac to create a Sierra or El Capitan installer?

    Either operating system will format the ssd back to HFS. It may take a couple of tries to format with Sierra or El Capitan but it should bring it back to HFS and then you can install High Sierra.
     
  9. Gatt thread starter macrumors newbie

    Gatt

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    #9
    i used bootable macos usb and this fixed it thanks you for the help man
     
  10. Hotforecast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    #10
    Bro how did you this? I have the same problem. What is this bootable usb? I dont have any back up.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #11
    Did you go into disk utility to delete and re-create partitions?
     
  12. Hotforecast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    #12
    I did not create partitions. Any step by step instructions?
     
  13. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #13
    Which Macbook do you have?
     
  14. Hotforecast macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    #14
    Bootable macos? How?
     
  15. Audit13 macrumors 68040

    Audit13

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    #15
    Did you try pursuing the power button and hosting down command+option+R keys to enter internet recovery?
     
  16. iGobbleoff macrumors regular

    iGobbleoff

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #16
    I had the same issue but on a Mac Pro. I downloaded Sierra and made a bootable usb which formatted the drive to HFS and then did the upgrade to High Sierra.
     
  17. Jaysymon macrumors newbie

    Jaysymon

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    #17
    I just solved this problem. Somehow, the partition (volumes) got messed up in the new Apple File System. So what I did was reformat it to MAC OS Extended (journaled)—I guess that’s the old file system. Then I reformated it again back to APFS and installed High Sierra. That’s all without a bootable USB
     

Share This Page