Could really get some advice on which option to pick!!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Hercules, Mar 25, 2011.

1. Hercules macrumors newbie

Hi everyone,

Before I get into the dilemma I face, let me tell you my primary purposes for a computer: web surfing, watching videos/youtube, word processing, running parallels, reading articles. I am not planning on doing any video editing, graphics design, photoshop etc, but I may be doing some photo editing.

This is what I currently own:

Late 2008 unibody 15 inch MacBook pro 2.4 ghz 4gb ram
    27 inch apple cinema display
    1st generation iPad

My MacBook pro has now become slugglish and so I'm looking to replace it. I am a college student and therefore value portability lol. I would like to purchase a Mac Mini and use it with my cinema display (would give me that desktop feel without having to plug and unplug my laptop everyday - very annoying lol). Money is not an issue and I don't plan on getting it until the summer.

Here are some options I have come up with

Buy 2011 15 inch MacBook pro 2.2 ghz 4gb ram, 256 SSD (I know this is overkill for what I do but I need my laptop to be as future proof as possible as I am going away for grad school and probably won't be getting a new laptop for another 3-4 years)
    Purchase Mac mini when it gets updated later this year and hook it up to cinema display
    Sell iPad and get 11 inch MacBook air (seriously debating this)

Buy ultimate 13 inch MacBook air when it gets updated with icore chip hopefully this summer (love the slim profile and great battery life, pissed that it only comes in glossy screen)
    Buy Mac mini for cinema display