could someone on a mac please check this menu?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by designtesting, Aug 4, 2007.

  1. designtesting macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #1
    We're currently designing a site for a client who uses a mac

    The new roll over menu we're looking at integrating into the site works on a PC; in IE 6+7, firefox2.0 & Safari (PC) but he's reporting a very odd grey box appearing when he rolls over the services menu (currently the only menu item with a submenu)

    I've changed a few settings tonight, but not having a mac i can't tell if they've worked!

    warning - this site has adult content, you probably shouldn't look @ work!

    I'm not asking for a design critique (the site won't be to everyones taste i think), just advice as to whether the rollover menu is working correctly on a mac... if it's not and you've any idea how to fix it, all suggestions gratefully received.

    http://83.138.146.13/winkslondon.com

    thanks
     
  2. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    yip there is a stange gray box.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    God. Be more specific when you say adult content. It is not only work where you can't watch that.
     
  4. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #4
    yeah, i get that grey bar as well. Only in the Services menu. Also, when I roll over it, only Two Hand is highlighted; Winks isn't highlighted. Same for Four Hand.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. amd4me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
  6. designtesting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #6
    thanks, just 1 last question...

    thanks - guess it's back to the drawing board for the menu!

    out of interest, does the same thing happen on this site?

    http://83.138.146.13/lifepharmacy.co.uk/


    and yes - i know i really have to buy a mac for testing purposes!

    if anyone has any ideas how to fix.....
     
  7. Cabbit macrumors 68020

    Cabbit

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    I guessing this it not what you were expecting. To me im guessing that you need to make the z-index higher than the page content. And put a not sutible for work/office/neer the wife/husband warning on it.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

    angelwatt

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    I didn't get the bar on my Mac using Firefox (with toolbar tip turned off) and Safari 3.0.3. Was this a browser specific thing on Mac? Or maybe it was fixed in the last couple minutes, haha.
     
  9. designtesting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #9
    think it was a very specifc issue - we've changed the way it works now, could someone who had problems before please check it again for me...

    http://83.138.146.13/winkslondon.com/

    Again Adult content - caution!

    Thanks so much for your help
     
  10. Sherman Homan macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    #10
    1977: "I don't buy Playboy for the pictures! I read the articles!"
    2007: "I don't go to pr0n sites for the pictures! I peer-review the coding!"
     
  11. harveypooka macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    #11
    Grey box on the Safari 3 Beta.

    A 4 Hand Winks Massage for 90 min, £275?! I think I'd rather buy an iPod...
     
  12. barr08 macrumors 65816

    barr08

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #12
    Outstanding.

    Oh, and you're a South Shore guy, which makes me like you even more!
     
  13. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #13
    You know you could pretty much test it yourself:

    http://www.apple.com/safari/ (for windows)

    The only browser on the mac that you can't test is IE5, but no one really uses that anymore.
     
  14. c3str macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
    Safari 2.0.4, no grey box

    OP stated that it displays correctly on Safari/Win.

    Not sure if you've fixed the problem already, but no grey box, Mac Safari 2.0.4.
     
  15. designtesting thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    #15
    Perfect, thanks guys!

    Have checked with the client & he's happy :D

    ps - sorry if the site offended anyone
     

Share This Page