Could someone verify these steps? JB 3.0.1 to JB 3.1.2

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by bradl, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. bradl macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #1
    I just want to be sure I have the steps right on this, as I'm hoping to do this in the next couple of days. What I'm looking to do is go from 3.0.1 (Jailbroken) to 3.1.2 (Jailbroken) on my iPhone 3G. So far, the steps I have are:

    1. Transfer any purchases I have back into iTunes.
    2. Backup the iPhone.
    3. Restore to vanilla 3.0.1.
    4. Update to 3.1.2.
    5. blackra1n.
    6. blacksn0w.
    7. Backup the iPhone.
    8. Sync Apps.
    9. Done.

    Luckily, I only have 5 apps from Cydia, one of which will be 'fun' to put back on (LockInfo). But this should be the steps to do this, right? I read some nasty rumours about going from a Jailbroken OS to one not jailbroken eats up about 500MB of space on the Phone, and didn't know if that was still true or not. So I want to be sure I have it all laid out right. If someone could just give the 'yay' or 'nay' on it, I'd appreciate it.

    EDIT: I forgot to mention that this will be done on a Windows box. Win7, to be exact.

    BL.
     
  2. Mystikal macrumors 68020

    Mystikal

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #2
    Backup a few times
    Update to 3.1.2.
    RESTORE AS NEW PHONE (locate backup on your comp, move it)
    blackrain
    blacksnow
    resync.
     
  3. bradl thread starter macrumors 68040

    bradl

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    #3
    Okay.. so you're saying that I should backup my JB 3.0.1 phone a couple hundred times. Got that.

    Update to 3.1.2 *from* the JB 3.0.1, right? According to various sites and Googling, this keeps that 500MB used on the phone.

    If I restore as a new phone afterwards, that should blow away that additional 500MB of used space, I assume? and I should move that 3.0.1 backup, or the 3.1.2 one that is going to be created after the update?

    The last three are obvious. :)

    BL.
     
  4. soulghost macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #4
    1. Backup
    2. Restore (it will by default restore you to a fresh 3.1.2)
    3. Now you can setup up your fresh 3.1.2 from backup or as a new
    phone(I always go for a new phone).
    4. Run BlackRa1n/Snow.
    5. Now sync your apps music etc.
     
  5. Coraline macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Location:
    Ottawa
    #5
    Thanks for this thread, was wondering the same thing myself. Didn't know if the steps I had were correct. Followed this thread and everything went perfectly.
     

Share This Page