Could this be the new Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by OrangeSVTguy, Feb 3, 2009.

  1. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #1
    I'm not saying that this is actually what the new Mac Pro looks like but sort of a concept? I got kinda bored...

    12 memory slots on 3 risers
    8 internal hard drive slots
    1 optical drive (kinda like the older G5's)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Why do we need three risers? Six DIMMs per processor means six slots per riser.

    And since they're not FB-DIMMs, we can keep the riser cards the same size because we can push the RAM slots themselves closer together since the DIMMs don't need leviathan heat sinks.

    I'd much rather have a LONGER case than a taller one...
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    I was just kinda bored so I was messing around. Just a basic concept though. The case is still pretty much the same size because the second optical drive is absent. There's 3 risers because if you cram 6 onto each one will really kill the air flow especially with those heat spreaders on them. Or there can be 3 processors then if that would work.

    But like you said not using them you probably could use 6 though on each riser. Since they don't need those heat sinks. But would really crampen them up.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. AdvocateUK macrumors regular

    AdvocateUK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Billingham, United Kingdom
    #4
  5. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #5
    Minimum, at least. :D :p

    The day I can stuff in 12 drives without the need for specialty mounting hardware, I'll be a really happy camper. :D
     
  6. Gleadr macrumors member

    Gleadr

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    Needs more ram slots. Cuz if there is more the happier i will be :D i would want something like 32 gigs in larger amounts of memory spread it around a bit and see what happens xD
     
  7. AdvocateUK macrumors regular

    AdvocateUK

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Location:
    Billingham, United Kingdom
    #7
    Or ZFS, man would my life be easier with ZFS.

    Setup two storage pools both 2TB in size. OS and data on one, backup to the other with Time Machine.

    Or am I misunderstanding how ZFS works?
     
  8. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #8
    6 slots per CPU is the limit in the DP boards for Gainestown/Xeon 5500 Series.
    You can go with larger DIMM's, but I certainly don't want to see the cost. :rolleyes: ;)

    (Too scared to look, but the 4GB DIMM's are already available. Check out Crucial. DDR3 ECC Unbuffered). :)
     
  9. Gleadr macrumors member

    Gleadr

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Location:
    Arizona
    #9
    Then put more processors that will solve all the problems then they would get confused and the computer would be un-gawdly slow...
     
  10. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #10
    They've already done it, but it's not slow. It's called Beckton. :D :p

    Never to be seen in the next MP. Costs way too much. Current Dunningtons are over $2700 per CPU (price hint), and you need 4. :eek: :p
     
  11. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #11
    A 6-slot DDR3 riser would need 1,440 pins on the connector. I don't think the whole multi-slot riser thing is really going to be done with DDR3.
     
  12. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #12
    Well, then, how will they fit everything into the case? :confused:

    Unless they make it... *gasp* LONGER! So the darn thing doesn't look like a tiny square! :D
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    It's not 1440 pins for a 3 channel riser. :D

    Hint: 1366 pins to the Xeon 5500/Core i7 parts, and not all of them are used (NC). :eek:

    NC = Not Connected, and are reserved for future designs.

    The memory controller has connections for 3 channels, and the DIMM's share the connections for it's channel. The on die mem controller has a selector to handle the additional DIMM/channel.

    So half (720 pins). :D
    Quite doable, at 360 pins wide. ;)
     
  14. bki122689 macrumors 6502

    bki122689

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2008
    #14
    wow lots of jargon
    i only understood bits and pieces
     
  15. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    The only thing you really need to get out of this is that Nehalem will telekinetically knock the socks off of every other processor.
     
  16. TrapOx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Denver
    #16
    The current MacPro design is fine, just a little bit dated. The basic appearance is 6 years old, longer than the 4 year lifespan of the G3/G4 case shape! I'd guess (like TS does so frequently) they will redesign it to more closely match the iMac/MB/MBP/24" display appearance.

    4 drive bays is very good, 8 is massive overkill for 90% of MP buyers. FW800 was made specifically for those that need lots of extra storage and eSATA PCIe cards are common. I'd personally much prefer dual optical drives over more internal HD bays.
     
  17. tom. macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #17
    You are a man obsessed!
     
  18. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #18
    Yes. I'm not sure what I will do if Apple fails us...

    Though there is a clock tower at my university... :rolleyes:
     
  19. tom. macrumors 6502

    tom.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    lol.

    Although I find it unlikely they will let us down on the ideas discussed in your thread, with the lack of attention paid to the mac lines in recent times it worries me that they might.
     
  20. rylin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #20
    How, exactly, would I gain access to the upper row of disks? ;)

    Don't get me wrong; it would be great to have 8 slots, but I could make due with two and an external storage case.
    It sucks that every external storage case is insanely expensive though :(
    A 2U or 3U case with 15 - 24 front loaded slots would be awesome for AoE purposes.
    Throw in a few gigabit ports on the back and you have enterprise storage at a fraction of the cost of a FC SAN.
     
  21. wpc33 macrumors 6502

    wpc33

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #21
    Pretty bad clock speed, though, eh?
     
  22. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    Well, we get a result four times an hour, so that's better than some. I've heard talk of upgrades to six times an hour, but the reeducation associated with such an upgrade isn't really worth the money, in my opinion.
     
  23. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #23
    *cough* nocomment *cough*

    Yes, indeed. Those suckers cost a pretty penny. (They are Registered, not Unbuffered, by the way.)
     
  24. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #24
    You remove ones on the bottom...duh. ;)
     
  25. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #25
    You remove ones on the bottom...duh. ;)

    ...or just make them all spring-loaded. :D
     

Share This Page