Could you Critique website?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by paprgypc, Apr 6, 2009.

1. paprgypc macrumors newbie

I am new to website design and this is my first attempt. I know that there are some improvements that need to be made. One is get some customer recommendations to put into site.

I would appreciate any other comments.

Thanks,

Jim

http://www.robscustomcabinetry.net

2. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

yoyo5280

I don't particularly like it.
    Its too messy and looks unfinished
    :eek:

3. miles01110 macrumors Core

miles01110

I'd either make the links menu a solid bar or put some space in between those "buttons." I'd probably just make it a solid color though. The photo in the banner (actually now that I look at it closely, the entire banner) extends a few pixels beyond the main content area on both the left and right. I would make the pictures the same size and make them smaller (decreases load time).

4. torndownunit macrumors regular

-There seems to be a lot of strange spacing issues throughout the site. EG on the remodeling page there is a huge gap after the last paragraph.

-In the gallery page, one image has a hover effect on it, and the others don't. And again, the the spacing is all over the place.

- The "Our Company" page, again MAJOR spacing issues.

-Between the large fonts, and all the issues with spacing the pages are just way larger physically than they need to be. And it makes them come across as messy. I'd decrease the font size, and try to work on the layout big time.

-The button graphics appear to be 'scrunched up', and because of that the text doesn't look clear on them.

Some people will probably offer you some more constructive tips on the code itself, those are just straight layout suggestions.

Looking at the code I see a mess of Javascript for the menu that I don't think you even need though. You could easily do a similar menu using only CSS.

5. ezekielrage_99 macrumors 68040

ezekielrage_99