Could you technically add more memory to iPhone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Phonefanman, Jul 6, 2016.

  1. Phonefanman Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    #1
    Just curious from just being curious standpoint could the iPhone be opened up and have more memory added? Let's say you had a buddy who works at the Apple store and you wanted to change your iPhone 16gb into a 64gb could this be done?

    And what ever happened to the iPhone 6 with 128gb? Didn't they pull it off the market because of some issues the phone had with the 128gb being to large?
     
  2. Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #2
    The memory is soldered right into the circuit board. Highly doubtful memory could be changed out.
     
  3. chestvrg macrumors 65816

    chestvrg

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    #3
    In China I watched videos on YouTube that it is possible. They somehow have a machine that swaps the memo tu chip from 16GB to 128GB. Search in YouTube it is possible.
     
  4. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
  5. bufffilm macrumors 68040

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #5
    This has been discussed already...use the search function.
     
  6. Savor Suspended

    Savor

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #6
    Just get a cheap Android phone with micro-sd slot and make it as your media player because iPhones aren't better at it. Can't play different video formats except MP4. The difference between 16gb to 64gb iPhone models is ridiculous when you can pick up a 64gb micro-sd card for $20 these days and about $40-$50 for 128gb.

    Android has this app called QuickPic. I can see both my photos and videos in the same app. Unlike Apple which has a Videos and Photos app to separate them. And everytime I click a video on QuickPic, MX Player is by default video player. QuickPic can play videos but MX has more robust settings like higher volume, can play more different video formats, and background play.

    Those are the many reasons why I will just settle for a 32gb iPhone 7 instead of a 128gb. Save the $100+ when a 128gb micro-sd can be found for half that. An iPhone isn't really something I will use to watch videos and usually HD movies take up the most space for me.

    Android -> media files thanks to QuickPic, MX Player, and micro-slot for cheap storage expansion.

    iPhone - > camera, games...

    Having a family of phones is way better than solely depending on one phone.

    Group > Flying solo

    Too many weaknesses strictly depending on one platform, one phone. I find it more fun being a phone fanatic than an exclusive Android or iPhone fanboy.
     
  7. willmtaylor, Jul 6, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2016

    willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #7
    I performed searches for "replace (iPhone) memory," "replace (iPhone) storage," "increase (iPhone) memory," "swap (iPhone) storage/memory," & "increase (iPhone) storage," and came up with little relevant or recent results.

    Did you have different results?
     
  8. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #8
    They pulled the 128GB iPhone 6 because Apple wants you to buy the newest phone if you're spending that much.
     
  9. Sunny1990 macrumors 68000

    Sunny1990

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    #9
    I think (not sure) the entire logic board will needed to be replaced as there will be some differences in both boards to replace the memory chip ( both of different sizes)
     
  10. Jimmy James macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
  11. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #11
    Check out the tear-down pics & videos from iFixit and then tell us what you think. :)

    Short answer: Sorry, but "No."
     
  12. bufffilm macrumors 68040

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #12
    It's there...I remember it well.
     
  13. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #13
    I'm not saying it isn't. I'm saying that you suggested using the search function to find a thread, and when I did so, I couldn't find it. Can you?
     
  14. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #14
    I guess in theory the storage chip could be de-soldered and replaced with a higher capacity one, but it would be almost impossible to do without specialised equipment and a lot of experience and there may well be other changes that would need to be made to the motherboard.

    Here's a picture of the motherboard with the storage chip shown with the red border - picture from the ifixit teardown

    [​IMG]
     
  15. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #15
    I'm going to speak to this only since most of the rest of your question has been answered.

    So, assuming your hypothetical, let's add some realism.

    1. Does your hypothetical friend value his job?
    2. Does your hypothetical friend have access to specialised tools?
    3. Does the Apple store the hypothetical friend work at have those special tools?
    4. Does your hypothetical friend have the experience/knowledge to desolder/resolder the parts necessary?
    5. Does the Apple store your hypothetical friend works at have those parts?
    6. Does your hypothetical friend have the time/space necessary to do this at the Apple store he/she works at without getting caught (assuming that Apple store has the tools/equipment necessary).

    If you can answer NO to the first question and YES to the rest then this is possible.

    However, if your hypothetical friend ever gets caught realize that he won't be working for Apple after that. This is the kind of thing that gets Apple employees fired very quickly.
     
  16. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #16
    An Apple store employee isn't going to be doing discrete component level repairs. They MIGHT be able to do something like this at one of the larger service depots, but I doubt it. Removing and replacing soldered parts is most likely left to the manufacturer of the logic board.
     
  17. bniu macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    #17
    Why did you buy 16GB initially then?

    My rule is if I can't afford the highest capacity model, then I don't buy
     
  18. Phonefanman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    #18
    There is no thread on the exact topic I started here. So that's why I started the thread on the topic. The other guy said search for it on here, but problem is it don't exsist
    --- Post Merged, Jul 7, 2016 ---
    I was using the Apple employee as an example. I should of just said someone who knows what they are doing. I was just curious didn't say I wanted to do it... Getting fired from an Apple store is just a good reason to get a real job anyway. I wish I could say the same for the poor people at foxxcon....
     
  19. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #19
    I'm not saying that it does or doesn't. I'm saying his response was unhelpful. Go back and read.
     
  20. Phonefanman thread starter Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    #20
    Don't want the highest memory model, was just curious if adding memory could be done. I'm happy with my phone the way it is... Like I said I was just curious and can afford 10 iPhones, just don't want to...
     
  21. Newtons Apple macrumors Pentium

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #21
    Someone with the knowledge and equipment likely could but they would charge more than what it was worth.
     
  22. I7guy macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    What Exit?/Saguaro Country
    #22
    So theoretically yes, practically no. Just like many other things.
     
  23. itsray macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    #23
    short answer no. your friend would not be able to do that. they don't even carry the part to do so. and even if you somehow gave him the part and he did it while at work he would get fired.
     
  24. CiccioAtSea macrumors regular

    CiccioAtSea

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Location:
    Principality of Monaco
    #24
    But the real question imo is... how would you get the spare memory??
     
  25. WaruiKoohii macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #25
    Technically yes, you can, but it's a highly invasive procedure that requires specialized equipment.

    There's a place in China that'll do it. This is a video of them actually performing the procedure.


    So...while it's technically doable, practically...not really, unless you can ship your phone off to them.
     

Share This Page