Counter Strike:GO on MBA ... anyone?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sid-R, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. Sid-R macrumors member

    Sid-R

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
  2. asting macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #2
    Yep. I'm running it all high except no aa at native Res on my 2012 13" i5/8/128
    Works very well with 50-60fps.
     
  3. stark4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #3
    How about on my 2011 MBA 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5 with 4GB? Anyone tried it?
     
  4. Sid-R thread starter macrumors member

    Sid-R

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    #4
    sounds great .. Mine is MBA 11,17/8/256.. Should work fine then.. Time to get some Head shots in

    Fire in the Hole!!
     
  5. dwburnell macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    #5
    Is the game just worth it in general? I really liked the old Counter Strike. I have a 2012 13" 1.8 Ghz i5, 4 GB Ram, 128 GB SSD.
     
  6. asting macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #6
    It seems promising but seems more sloppy and natural than the old cs games, which I still enjoy. It's a different type and feels more casual. The saturation is ridiculous. They're following the over process to hell trend, and as a result the colors are washed out. Looks like a constant hi pass filter.
     
  7. shrtmkr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    the apple
    #7
    Running it on a 2012 1.8/8gb thru ACD; runs perfect so far in native resolution(1920X1200).
    8GB makes the shared gpu 512mb instead of 384mb on a 4gb.
     
  8. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #8
    Cool! Glad to see it's running ok on the 2012 mba. Im getting this tonight!
     
  9. masands macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #9
    How much space does it take up? I don't want to strain my 128gb MacBook Air.
     
  10. asting macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #10
    I want to say 5 or 6gb but don't quote me on that. I can check at home.
     
  11. shrtmkr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    the apple
    #11
    5 gigs.
     
  12. shznit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #12
    I'm on the fence, can someone post real numbers? One guy said 50-60 fps on high and native res but I am a bit skeptical because my 2011 sandy bridge 13" can barely do 30fps at those settings.
     
  13. asting macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #13
    It does on the 2012 which is much faster than the 2011 graphically.
    I used net_graph 1 in console to view, although I did no extensive analysis. Perhaps the areas or maps I tend to check it on are less demanding.
     
  14. aleni macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    #14
    Wow. Impressed by this game and the intel hd 4000. On my 2012 11" ultimate, it runs very smooth with everything high except for shadow on medium.

    I even turned up the resolution to native 1336x768 plus anti aliasing enabled!

    Very happy with the intel hd 4000. This is so much improvement over the hd 3000
     
  15. stark4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    wait nobody tried it on 2011 MBA 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5 with 4GB????
     
  16. shznit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #16
    you want osx or windows numbers? they are both pretty bad, although windows might be a little faster.

    Thanks for the followup. Did you try it in windows? I'm not ready to jump on the retina wagon just yet but I'm also not looking forward to another year of crappy graphics.
     
  17. Hai1242 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #17
    Works great on 2011 MBA 13'' i5 4GB bootcamp at 1440x900 resolution and High/Med settings (default).

    It is playable on Mountain Lion, but the difference on Win 7 is +100%. I suggest installing bootcamp if you are going to play any games at all.
     
  18. shamash macrumors 6502a

    shamash

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Taichung, Taiwan
    #18
    I'd try it, but with a $15 price tag I'd rather just play TF2 -_-
     
  19. stark4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Location:
    Florida
    #19
    Thanks .. i just want to play CS GO... Why on windows is better than on mac os?

    i don't want to do bootcamp or anything complicate that's why..

    CS GO on mac os is unplayable on our 2011 MBA 13" i5 4GB?

    Thanks
     
  20. shznit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #20
    I consider it unplayable, but i'm used to playing CS:S at 100 fps :)
     
  21. masands macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    #21
    So whats the verdict on the 2012 Air? I know its definitely running but I'm thinking of just buying it for my xBox. Can someone post the FPS on all settings maximum and native resolution? Oh yeah, my HD 4000 has less VRAM because I have 4GB RAM.
     
  22. chrisrosemusic1 macrumors 6502a

    chrisrosemusic1

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Location:
    Northamptonshire, England
    #22
    It will run medium at least (which is still more detailed than the 360 version). Not to mention, Xbox is only 5v5 and steam version can be customised to 12v12.

    I've got the 13" Pro running a 2.8 i7 with 8gb RAM (512mb HD 3000 virtual GPU) and I have it at max resolution, all details on high and AA/Shadow high too and it runs smooth as butter.

    I tried the Xbox one but it looks washed out and character models are terrible in comparison. Chuck that in with only a paltry 5v5 and it's better for your Mac.
     
  23. asting macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    #23
    It will still be much better than the Xbox. Mods will make the PC version much much better anyway.
     
  24. shamash macrumors 6502a

    shamash

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Location:
    Taichung, Taiwan
    #24
    I just want to add that CS:GO runs wonderfully on my 2012 base 13" MBA.

    However, I'm REALLY bad at it. REALLY bad. I keep switching guns hoping I'll get better... I feel like I should have saved $15 and stuck with TF2. I've only played rescue the hostages or whatever though, thinking it would be like CTF, and I might just need a better map than italy/office. I'll try more later :p
     
  25. shznit macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #25
    everyone is bad when they first start. watch the good players and learn how to shoot.
     

Share This Page