Counter Strike on Powerbook G4?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by qzxyu, May 17, 2011.

  1. qzxyu macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    #1
    I just found out Steam is now available on Macs, but don't support the older Powerbooks... I stopped playing CS a few years ago when I sold my PC, and would like to try and play again.. Anybody know a workaround to run steam on a Powerbook without intel? I plan on buying a new iMac eventually but thats probably a few months away..
     
  2. FX120 macrumors 65816

    FX120

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    #2
    It won't happen. Steam will not install on a PPC Mac because of the different architecture, and it is not a universal binary.
     
  3. qzxyu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
  4. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Not to mention that Counter Strike isn't even on the Mac. Counter Strike: Source is though.
     
  5. qzxyu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    #5
    Thanks for that vital input to my original query.
     
  6. Mobius 1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Location:
    USEA
  7. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #7
    Not on a G4
     
  8. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #8
    Please don't make two threads for the same issue, the other one can be found here.

    Darwine, because we heard you like slow software so we put a compatibility layer on your compatibility layer so you can emulate while you emulate!

    [​IMG]
     
  9. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #9
    I have managed to get Half-Life 1 running on a PowerBook. It required me to install VirtualPC and Windows XP. With that setup I could install HL from an old CD copy I had. The game was able to run using software rendering, but was a little slow and there were mouse tracking issues.

    It's not a perfect setup, especially for the competitive nature of Counter Strike.
     
  10. qzxyu thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    #10
    Correct me if I am wrong, but isn't the point of a forums to get an answer in most cases? So why would one limit oneself on where to post to find an answer, especially if the original query is posted in area where I am sure few people venture to explore these days... Im new to this forum, but that hardly means this is my first forum experience. Typically when a question in raised one would use every outlet at their disposal. I didn't post the question in an irrelevant or non associative area so I don't see what the big deal is.. Wouldn't it be more useful to just ignore the second post if you've seen it already since I am sure that many other have not?
     
  11. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #11
    Because a lot of issues are relevant to more than one area, if everyone did it the forums would get pretty clogged up.

    Interesting, I've never signed up to a forum (maybe 5, in total) that didn't have this rule.
    Why split the discussion in half? This just makes things more cumbersome for anyone searching a similar issue. Also, I stumbled across this rendition of the thread by accident (I saw the exact same title and assumed it was the exact same thread - how foolish).
     
  12. cocacolakid macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #12
    Same here, I saw this thread title and wondered why it was in two different locations.

    Forum moderators normally will merge the two threads into one or delete one of them, they don't allow people to start the same thread over and over.
     

Share This Page