Counter Strike Source In Bootcamp

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by 103734, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. 103734 Guest

    Apr 10, 2007
    when I try loading it in bootcamp it loads then goes to a black screen but you can still hear the mouse click when going over menu items. I hear about people running HL2 and stuff on macbooks, anything I can do to get this working?
  2. M@lew macrumors 68000


    Nov 18, 2006
    Melbourne, Australia
    Probably a Windows problem if you're running it in Boot Camp. Or Drivers. Tried reinstalling them?
  3. mrcmosx macrumors newbie

    Apr 15, 2007
    rosemead, Ca
    I am in the same situation here.. anyone know how to fix this?
  4. Spookster187 macrumors newbie

    Apr 27, 2007
    I am in the same problem right now, trying to simply find a way to fix it. I do have DirectX 9.0c installed, and set -autoconfig and -window in my launch instructions for CS:S, although to no avail, there is yet a solution to getting the black screen to go away.

    To be more detailed, when you start up you see the loading screen with the two guys, and "Loading" down in the bottom right. Although, as soon as the menu is ready and it loads, the whole game window goes black. The menu still functions, you can hear it working, and I am able to quit using the menu (and memory, lol), although you can't really play like that.
  5. superspiffy macrumors 6502a

    Feb 6, 2007
    I have a 2.33ghz C2D MBP and I installed CS:S through Boot Camp. I never had any problems with it and I'm using Vista Ultimate! Which Windows version are you guys using, and have you downloaded all the patches for it, and are there any other programs running in the background?
  6. I Know That Guy macrumors newbie

    Jun 30, 2007
    ive got the exact same problem im using a stripped down version of windows xp professional :(
  7. mac2thefuture macrumors 65816

    May 15, 2007
    Lancashire, North West, UK
    I use cs with boot camp and have now issues. I have read somewhere though that some people have to use direct x 7??
    It might be worth a try.
  8. Nym macrumors 6502a


    Oct 4, 2006
    Porto, Portugal
    You only have to force directX 7 if you're using a MacBook (or Mac Mini) because of the absence of a dedicated GPU.

    If that's the case there is a command you type in the game properties window to force directX 7, just search the forums for "Counter Strike", I bet there's a lot of threads that teach how to do that :)
  9. Phitz macrumors newbie

    Jun 21, 2007
    OK I know this is dragging this topic WAY out of the grave, and I already posted a topic on this, but this seems to be my solution. Anyone know how to do this?
  10. Phitz macrumors newbie

    Jun 21, 2007
  11. Gryfon19 macrumors regular

    Jun 27, 2007

    Right click on the CS:S icon in Windows, select Properties, and to the end of the Target line "-dxlevel 70"

    This will force it to use DirectX 7. That said, I've done it on my Mac Mini and have yet to make it any better. Best if luck.
  12. JudasConstant macrumors newbie

    Jan 21, 2007
    That solution works, but the easiest way to implement it is to right click on CSS in Steam and under "Properties" click on "Set launch options..." and just put "-dxlevel 70" in the command line.

    Thanks for the help with this solution, sorry for reviving an old thread, but this thread is high on google and a bunch of other people will probably come here looking for a solution. (Plus it's only been 11 days or so. ;))
  13. Tommie Montana macrumors member

    Aug 28, 2007
    I have a solution to this problem in XP home playing CS 1.6. I just hit the command key (which acts as the windows key) when playing, you then get the desktop again. Then I hit ctrl alt delete and reactivate cs, and I have the screen again. I used to have XP freeze when I left the game so now I just quit by hitting command and killing it at that ctrl alt delete screen.
  14. Shreedhan macrumors newbie

    Aug 28, 2007
    Forcing CS Source to run using directx 7 doesn't work for me. I still get artefacts (white dots) going across the screen then anywhere from 1 min to 2hours later the screen freezes and then goes black. Any suggesstions?
  15. Askke macrumors newbie

    Jan 26, 2008
    loading problems

    im having some trouble getting css to run on my imac. im running bootcamp with windows xp and i have installed directx 9.0

    when i tell my mac to load Css the loading screen comes up but instead of the screen going black as other users have said, for me the loading screen ust disappears and when I look under the "applications" on ctrl-alt-delete csss is not there, with the screen open i will prompt css to run again, once again css loading screen appears andappears on the applications section however disappears without an error message or anything

    somebody please help

    P.S. i think the spec of my imac is a 2.2 ghz processor if it helps
  16. athei5t macrumors newbie

    May 19, 2008
    CSS works fine on Mac Mini C2D 1.83 2GB RAM

    JudasConstant said "the easiest way to implement it is to right click on CSS in Steam and under "Properties" click on "Set launch options..." and just put "-dxlevel 70" in the command line"

    This worked perfectly for far. No artifacts or anything but I will repost if I have any later problems. Some CSS servers will boot you if you aren't running DX 8.0 or above but you can still find a lot to play on. I was even able to get a good screen resolution and framerate on my Mac Mini Core2Duo 1.83 with 2 gigs of RAM.
  17. jli1 macrumors newbie

    May 29, 2008

    Will CS work in bootcamp on a MacBook Pro? (considering that it has a different graphics card)
  18. Angay macrumors newbie

    Jun 15, 2008
    HELP with CS via macbook

    i've just bought a macbook 2.4 GHz intel core 2 duo with 2gb ram and Chipset Model: GMA X3100. i've installed windows xp home with boot camp and installed counter strike source. it starts up and runs fine but when i load onto servers the game play so slow and choppy it's like pointless to even play. I've tried starting the game up in dxlevel 8 and dxlevel 7 i've dimmed down all the graphics but nothing is working. i know it can work some how cause i've seen a bunch of ppl do it. if i anyone could help me out with this and e-mail me it would be really appreciated

    my email is
  19. ChaoticDisaster macrumors newbie

    Oct 16, 2009
    I have the same problem, ever figure it out?
  20. halisray macrumors regular

    Nov 7, 2009
    google a program called "CrossOver".. very effective for Steam games, I use it to run CounterStrike on my macbook, 2.26ghz and it runs smoooooth

Share This Page