Counter Strike: Source - :: Server Help Needed ::

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Plutonius, Jul 11, 2010.

  1. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #1
    When I create a game on my mac while playing CS within steam (OS X), the game shows up as a LAN game and not as an internet game. Is it possible for a Mac to host as a CS server for the internet (in OS X) and how is it done ?
     
  2. bmwman4life11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    #2
    why not just play with people already in a server online?....
     
  3. Plutonius thread starter macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    When I want to play with some friends, I'm not too sure I want miscellaneous people to join the game (some are good to game with but many are not). I look at it in WoW terms as pugging in WoW as opposed to forming a group.

    Does anyone know if I can make an internet server for CS under steam for OS X and how is it done ?
     
  4. Plutonius thread starter macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
  5. wonderspark macrumors 68040

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    I do, but since nobody has ever joined it, I don't know if people can see it out there on the internet or not.
     
  6. Plutonius thread starter macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    After you start your server, hit the escape key (the game will keep going) and hit find a server. If your game shows up under the LAN tab, only the people on your local network can see it and if it shows up under the internet tab, everyone should see it.

    I can make a LAN server under OS X but I am unable to make an internet server under OS X.
     
  7. wonderspark macrumors 68040

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    Ah, yes.

    Mine only shows up in LAN. I think I know why, though, and it has to do with opening ports and such.
     
  8. chachawpi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    #8
    You have to port forward 27910 or whatever port you are using on your firewall/router to the machine hosting the server.
     
  9. Plutonius thread starter macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #9
    Thank you for the help !!!

    Doing a search on counter strike port forwarding, it seems to indicate that I have to forward ports TCP 27020-27039 and UDP 1200, 27000-27015. I'll give it a try when I get a chance.
     
  10. wonderspark macrumors 68040

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #10
    Cool... I'd like to know how it goes. My Mac and internet service seem to be well-suited to run as a server for about 32 players, perhaps?
     

Share This Page