Counterstrike Source

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by keganv, Sep 8, 2010.

  1. keganv macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #1
    Can someone please explain how I can get counterstrike source to work on my macbook?

    I have downloaded steam and installed counterstrike source through steam, and everytime I choose a server to play a map, the game begins to load and then the hl_osx crashes right before the game opens.

    These are my specs: -

    Model: MacBook3,1, BootROM MB31.008E.B02, 2 processors, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2 GHz, 4 GB
    Graphics: kHW_IntelGMA965Item, GMA X3100, spdisplays_builtin, 144 MB
    Memory Module: global_name
    AirPort: spairport_wireless_card_type_airport_extreme (0x14E4, 0x88), Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.91.21)
    Bluetooth: Version 2.1.9f10, 2 service, 1 devices, 1 incoming serial ports
    Network Service: Ethernet, Ethernet, en0
    Network Service: AirPort, AirPort, en1
    Serial ATA Device: WDC WD3200BEVT-00ZAT0, 298.09 GB
    Parallel ATA Device: MATSHITACD-RW CW-8221
    USB Device: Built-in iSight, (null) mA
    USB Device: Bluetooth USB Host Controller, (null) mA
    USB Device: Apple Internal Keyboard / Trackpad, (null) mA
    USB Device: IR Receiver, (null) mA
     
  2. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #2
    Sorry, Intel graphics aren't supported on the Mac Source engine.
     
  3. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3

    I believe the PC version would run under bootcamp ?
     
  4. xparaparafreakx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    #4
    The lag would be crazy with a GMA x3100 under bootcamp anyway.

    Walk from CT spawn towards bomb site b, lag, awp through mid.
     
  5. rbarris macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    Irvine CA
    #5
    That's correct. However that doesn't make the OS X Intel-graphics drivers any better.
     
  6. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    Yep, I was just trying to tell the OP that he could play it under Windows / Bootcamp.
     
  7. EthanNixon macrumors 6502a

    EthanNixon

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    If you REALLY want to play, it will be tough. You can only play under Windows with that GPU. You will have to run it in DirectX 8 or even 7. To do this, you open your launch options, by right-clicking your game, properties, launch options. Use "-dxlevel 81" or "80" or "70". If you want to get a little more FPS boost, you will have to use an FPS config. I play competitively and developed an FPS config that tons of gamers use for CS:S.

    To use an FPS config, you have to locate your cfg folder, "C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\YOURACCOUNTHERE\counter-strike source\cstrike\cfg" is usually the location. Download my CONFIG file from: http://esea.net/users/176203.

    Take the autoexec.cfg and move it into your CFG folder. This will drastically improve your FPS, but will make your game look bad.
     

Share This Page