CounterStrike

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by deanops, Jun 14, 2007.

  1. deanops macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #1
    hi all...

    i knew this was bound to happen but...

    i used to think.. like a week ago... that i wouldn't be playing games nd all that... but today i played cs on a pc.... now i really want it!! lol

    can i get it for mac? or do i have to install it thru parralels... or boot camp...

    i have a macbook.. will it suffice? the computer i used it on today also had itegrated grfx.. didnt look too bad...

    please help
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    You be better served getting a refurbished MacBook Pro for gaming. Couter Strike works just fine in Windows.
     
  3. deanops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #3
    too late now... will it work tho? and is there a mac .dmg version?
     
  4. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    It should run on the GMA950.
     
  5. deanops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #5
    thru parallels/bootcamp/or osx
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I'd run it in native Windows.
     
  7. deanops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #7
    i was wishing u didnt say that.. lol

    what about crossover?

    anything to avoid running it natively... i just want to use it occasionally in a window, low settings
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    Crossover Mac does have a demo that you can try. I've gotten it to work before. Just make sure to have a lot of RAM.
     
  9. deanops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    lol thanks for this... how bout the latest parraleles
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    I'd look for other threads about that. It looks like you're trying to avoid using Windows to begin with. I'd give Crossover a look first.
     
  11. deanops thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #11
    yeah petty much.. lol...

    ill look into it... once i finish exams...
     
  12. Mindcrime13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #12
    you can get soldier of fortune wich is basically the same thing:D
     
  13. Mac.Jnr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    #13
    Soldier of Fortune is boring :) can't compare it to CS.

    You'll have a hard time playing CS on your Macbook.

    If you can accept <20 FPS, which i doubt.

    No chance through parallels.

    You might have a chance using bootcamp or crossover, just might have to tweak a few settigns that's all :D

    Try watch this:
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=xZ7xE3PTzaA
     
  14. Spartan-117 macrumors newbie

    Spartan-117

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #14
    Mac.Jr i beg to differ, Just got back from a Lan played cs max settings on my macbook with solid 50fps beause set the fpsmax to 50 :) and manged to get cnc3 0.o to work on bootcamp which runs fine if shaders are set on medium :) . CS works on bootcamp and crossover tested both and both are playable.

    specs of my macbook

    2.13Ghz core 2
    2 Gb DDR2 667
    20Gb bootcamp

    cross over is your best option if u want to play it nativly, be sure to have your apple CD's ready too will need them :) hehe
     
  15. xJulianx macrumors 6502a

    xJulianx

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    #15
    I run Counter Strike 1.6 through Crossover on my 1.83GHz/1.5GB MacBook.

    It runs pretty well, there's the occasional slow down when you find yourself in a 30 man fire fight, but nothing rendering the game unplayable.
     
  16. Mac.Jnr macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    #16
    Spartan-117 Wow, why are people buy MBPs for :) Great News, are you running CS: Source or 1.6? Can you post some FPS Screenies please :)
     
  17. Spartan-117 macrumors newbie

    Spartan-117

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #17
    okies mac.jnr jsut for you I have composed a mini benchmark for you. this jsut covers CS 1.6 and CNC3 1.05.

    CS 1.6 settings
    - Varible res
    - Worst looking smoke
    - Crossover and xp Svp2

    Cnc3 1.05 settings
    - 800x600 res
    - medium shaders
    - Low on everything else

    IMO both games work well, cs works as good as it does on my pc, cnc3 plays good on these low settings but you can up the res but expect some lag then. fans hit 100% after about 5 mins fo playing but temp is stable at 70C ish.... :eek: the same for both osX and xp

    Can host LAN games on cnc3 0.o works still fine.

    Fps in CS is between 100 (maxium) to about 20's when in smoke, but adjusting the res and what situation you are in.

    Fps in cnc3 from what i have heard is capped at 30... and i dont know the command to get it up.. so i guess it's around either high 20's or 30's becasue it feels smooth game play to me even with the ion cannon firing. The only time it lags is when i had my 145 squads of Disentigrators 0.o and when a nuke fires in the middle of my screen LOL...

    Screenshots shown below
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Spartan-117 macrumors newbie

    Spartan-117

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #18
    PART 2

    yeh more screenshots as will only let me upload 5 at a time :(

    one thing the cnc3 looks like that I havent a clue becasue it was in fulle screenmode i guess it's how it streches it and when u print screen it records everything lool.

    Rest of sceenshots are below hope you can see the FPS on the CS ones there on the netgraph :)
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page