Couple of newbie questions

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sn00pie, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. sn00pie macrumors 6502a

    sn00pie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #1
    - How do you hide/unhide folders, in other words hide from Spotlight?

    - Do you need any sort of system maintenence tool on Mac like Crap Cleaner on Windows? To remove like cache, extra cookies and stuff you don't need.

    - When you first pickup your MacBook do you turn it on and use it until the battery is dead, then plug and charge it for the first time?

    - How easily will the MacBooks white plastic become yellowish or dirty? If your a big on hygiene and are "clean" will it stay white for a long time?

    - Is 1GB of RAM enough for basic MacBook usage? Or should I upgrade to 2.5GB? It's going to be roughly $40 for the 2GB stick, and $15 to get it installed.

    - Can Office for Mac 2008 read .docx files?

    - For Boot Camp will XP Pro (pre-SP2) work?

    That's it for now! I just want a few things out of the way before I pickup my MacBook in the next couple of days. :)
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    1. System Preferences / Spotlight

    2. OSX optimizes itself and it maintains the usability for years.

    3. Yes. Discharge fully and charge fully. search "battery calibration"

    4. Hygine. Dirty hands + white pants = dirty pants. Same with any material.

    5. 4gb of memory for current MacBook can be bought for around $100.

    6. Yes, reads .docx files.

    7. Requires SP2 or later

    Mac basics:
    http://forums.macrumors.com/forumdisplay.php?f=78

    Leopard
    http://www.apple.com/macosx/guidedtour/

    In addition, Apple Store provides free workshops.
     
  3. sn00pie thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sn00pie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    United States
    #3
    One more question regarding the Airport Express. I have a PC that is connected to a wired router via ethernet cable. Could I connect my ethernet cable coming out of my wired router into the Airport Express and then connect to the Airport Express with my MacBook?

    Or would the modem need to be directly connected to the Airport Express and I'd have to purchase a wireless USB adapter for the PC.

    On that note, does the PS3 work with the Airport Express?

    Thanks!
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    Yes, you should be able to plug the airport express into the wired router to create a wireless network. You'll have to disable DHCP on the airport express since that'll be handled by the wired router.
    PS3 should be fine.
     
  5. ghking macrumors regular

    ghking

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #5
    getting ram installed for you is a waste of 15 bucks it literally takes twenty seconds.
     

Share This Page