Couple Questions before buying a Mac Pro

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by tripleg, Dec 8, 2010.

1. tripleg macrumors member

I'm a long time PC user that is thinking about getting a Mac Pro as a photo
    workstation. I'm a part-time photographer with about a 1TB archive of RAW
    files. I currently shoot with a Canon 1D4 so my file sizes are around 20-25MB
    each. Software is mainly PS4 and Breeze Browser Pro. I may take this
    opportunity to upgrade to PS5 and try LR or Bibble5. Breeze Pro is not
    available for the Mac yet so I'll have to find a fast RAW viewer. My current
    workflow is all manual so I'm looking to streamline it a bit.

I've read some of the Mac Performance Guides and quite a few threads here
    but have a couple questions, or confirmation, however you want to view it.

My base system will be bought from the college store here on campus. My
    first question is what ghz to get? At this point the cost/benefit of the 6
    core is too much for me to justify so it's between 2.8 and 3.2. Any ideas,
    especially given my primary use? The 2.8 saves me around $380. Also,
    what video to get? Is there really much difference between the 5770 and
    5870? I've read that Aperture uses the GPU/VRAM of the 5870 and since
    that is something I might buy at a later date I'm going back and forth as to
    what card to get. Right now I'm thinking I'll get the 5770 and put the
    money to getting a 3.2 CPU. I'll keep everything else as is other then add
    the Apple Protection.

I'll be getting a 120GB SSD, 2x8GB memory, and 4 2TB drives from OWC.
    SSD for boot and apps, and two mirrored 2TB volumes using software raid.
    I'll be getting an esata card so I can hookup some form of backup device.
    The memory is expensive but I figure it gives me the most options for growth
    down the line.

The Mac Performance Guide says the software RAID is perfectly fine to use.
    For those that use it, how would you rate it? I've had 3ware RAID