Courageous Beginner..HELP!

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by prettypictures, Jun 27, 2011.

1. prettypictures macrumors newbie

Hello, I am a pretty courageous beginner! So here's my story, really hope to get some help!!! I own the little Nikon D50 and have a little 15' HP laptop that is about to be thrown out my window! In 07' I did a wedding w/ my D50..I had no idea what I was doing...but the family was pleased! They needed a list minute photographer and a friend recommend me for the job! I actually shot the ENTIRE wedding in AUTO!!!! I can't believe it now that I look back on it! Ok now I am strongly considering picking this hobby back up again. IN FACT, a another friend of mine pushed me and long story short, I have a wedding to shoot this fall! I just shot their engatment photos this past weekend! They do know what they are getting, was very upfront that I am not a professional, just a beginner! I am also going to do a family member's wedding next year as well! I have soo much to learn! I rented a Nikon D90 and it was incredible, thinking about buying this DSLR to step up my game. What I'm contemplating on now is, b/c of cost of course, is what would be best to purchase for editing/post production work? I would love to buy the 27' iMac w/ the works..but 2k is not feasible for me right now! It may be in a year though. I've read about the MBooks, I could afford to spend a little over 1k. But I've also seen that the screen isn't true color, you should purchase an extra moniter for viewing/editing and it seems these costs would just add up! Just don't know if this would be a wise choice, thinking I could just save what I would spend on a MacBook and purchase the 27'iMac. What I want to do more is a few, "side jobs" like engagement photos, sweet 16 parties and maybe more weddings. I also love making photo slide shows. I did a 20minute slide show for a church came out great...but my HP was pushed to the limit! I've thought about as well to just spend 50