coverting m4v

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by Tech198, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #1
    I am using Bun but no matter the options i can't get audio in the mpeg output.

    The audio in m4v file is H.264 .. I know AC-3 won't do anything without "help" from third party solution, and MP2 doesn't didn't help neither.

    I'm running MacOS 10.12.3.. I guess Toast would solve this, but its only one DVD... I prefer using Burn
     
  2. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #2
    Burn is not normally a problem. Please list the steps that you take to make your DVD in Burn.
     
  3. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #3
    In Burn I selected "DVD-Video"
    Under Burn, Preferences I went to "Video", "DVD" and changed Audio to "AC3" The rest of that pane remained unticked (I didn't want a theme)

    Then i added Video "+" .m4v format which converted to mpg in "Burn temporary" folder... I then played this in VLC.... Got video, but no audio...


    Since I previously wasted psychical discs, i thought it would be be better to test converted video in temp folder because that whats going to be the finished output..

    I then added "Perian" and tried again,, still same result...

    If I play the original in VLC, its fine... as the m4v file is hosted in iTunes as i'm using it for Home sharing setup and that is all fine.

    I did manage to do this in Windows, but i prefer to do this next time in Burn on Mac.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #4
    I've just tried an m4v file with AC3 audio and it worked OK. Have you tried it with mp2 audio?
     
  5. Tech198 thread starter macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #5
    Yes,, i've tried MP2 as well, same issue..

    I am running MacOS Sierra...
     
  6. Dave Braine macrumors 68040

    Dave Braine

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    #6
    Perhaps it's Sierra then? I'm still on El Capitan.
     

Share This Page