CPU Issue

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by scottsummer21, Mar 17, 2013.

  1. scottsummer21 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #1
    Currently I have been having issues with my 2010 MBP. Within about the last month or so I have installed a 120 GB SSD and upgraded to 8gb of ram, which all seemed to be working great. Last week or so, it has taken my MBP anwhere from 15-45 minutes to boot up, it is fairly slow when in use, according to istat menu, my kernal_task is using about 130% CPU and when running nova bench my cpu score used to be in the 400's and now is in the lower 100's. Can anyone possibly help me diagnose the situation and possibly instruct me on how to fix this issue because I am no longer under warranty.
     
  2. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #2
    Have you restarted your Mac recently?
    Did you try smc reset?
     
  3. scottsummer21, Mar 17, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2013

    scottsummer21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #3
    Yes, I have restarted recently, a few times actually and the same problem has occurred, but I have not tried a smc reset. I will try that and get back to you.

    ----------

    When trying to shutdown my computer, an error message came up that stated that I could not shut down my computer because there was an error. It attempted to shut down for about 10 minutes before that error occurred. I will keep trying to accomplish the reset.



    Just completed the reset and Kernel is still running at about 110% and system took 17 minutes to boot up

    Also when my MBP will go to sleep, when i try to wake it, the system instantly reboots
     
  4. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #4
    Sounds like either the RAM or SSD is faulty. Does it do it with the old RAM?
     
  5. xShane macrumors 6502a

    xShane

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    15-45 minutes? And I thought HDDs were bad...

    On a more serious note, that's definitely not normal. Do you have AppleCare? At the very least, take it into a nearby Apple store to get it looked at.

    This is probably the most likely case as it only appears to have been an issue after of having upgraded.
     
  6. scottsummer21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #6
    I will check it out! I will put everything back like it used to be and see if I make any progress.
     
  7. scottsummer21 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011

Share This Page