baba001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 18, 2017
27
0
Hi guys i have mac pro 2009 2.66 single cpu i am looking to upgrade my mac pro cpu. Now i am looking at dual x5690 cpu 12 core, since i only single tray spu ia m thinking of purchasing dual cpu tray now can i use any tray from any mac pro like 2008 or it has to be 2009 mac pro trays and up like 2010-12?.

Thanks guys
 

mattspace

macrumors 68000
Jun 5, 2013
1,712
1,347
Australia
Hi guys i have mac pro 2009 2.66 single cpu i am looking to upgrade my mac pro cpu. Now i am looking at dual x5690 cpu 12 core, since i only single tray spu ia m thinking of purchasing dual cpu tray now can i use any tray from any mac pro like 2008 or it has to be 2009 mac pro trays and up like 2010-12?.

Thanks guys

common wisdom is the CPU tray must match the rest of the machine - 2009 requires a 2009 cpu tray (firmware updating doesn't get around this). Does the work you want to do explicitly benefit from dual CPUs, because the 2009 dual is the least easy for installing new CPUs.
 

baba001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 18, 2017
27
0
Yes basically work i do is 3d rendering i have about 2000 Canadian dollars to spend i think doing the upgrade instead of building new windows machine is would be cheaper for me.

Thanks
 

DearthnVader

macrumors 65816
Dec 17, 2015
1,297
5,920
Red Springs, NC
Yes basically work i do is 3d rendering i have about 2000 Canadian dollars to spend i think doing the upgrade instead of building new windows machine is would be cheaper for me.

Thanks
If your workflow is macOS dependent, then your likely better off doing the logic board upgrade. However if you can use Windows, and you don't have to pay to buy the software you need, you'd be a lot better off with a 16 core AMD Threadripper system.

$2000 CAD will give you a real good start on a modern system, that will flat out run circles around the best Mac Pro you are ever going to be able to build with 5+ year old tech.

https://www.newegg.ca/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.3621272

Adding a good power supply, case, ram, GPU's and drives is going to set you back some coin, over your budget, but maybe you can vulture some GPU's and drives from the system you use now.

Really, it's a no brainer, why invest in 5 year old tech that isn't going to come with any sort of meaningful warranty or support?

Spend a little more and get, what is likely the best price to performance system you can build, even if it means saving for a little longer and getting by with what you have until you can afford a few extra $$$ on a system that has some legs to carry you into the next decade, with a warranty and support for the parts you are putting out your hard earned money for.

I spent $1200 on a 8 core 16 thread Rayzen 7 1700, with 32 Gigs of DDR4 ram, a Asus B350-F mainboard, 256 GB NVME SSD, and AMD RX 580, and I got to tell you this thing is a beast. I can run the macOS on it, but I don't recommend that for a production setting.
 

baba001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 18, 2017
27
0
If your workflow is macOS dependent, then your likely better off doing the logic board upgrade. However if you can use Windows, and you don't have to pay to buy the software you need, you'd be a lot better off with a 16 core AMD Threadripper system.

$2000 CAD will give you a real good start on a modern system, that will flat out run circles around the best Mac Pro you are ever going to be able to build with 5+ year old tech.

https://www.newegg.ca/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.3621272

Adding a good power supply, case, ram, GPU's and drives is going to set you back some coin, over your budget, but maybe you can vulture some GPU's and drives from the system you use now.

Really, it's a no brainer, why invest in 5 year old tech that isn't going to come with any sort of meaningful warranty or support?

Spend a little more and get, what is likely the best price to performance system you can build, even if it means saving for a little longer and getting by with what you have until you can afford a few extra $$$ on a system that has some legs to carry you into the next decade, with a warranty and support for the parts you are putting out your hard earned money for.

I spent $1200 on a 8 core 16 thread Rayzen 7 1700, with 32 Gigs of DDR4 ram, a Asus B350-F mainboard, 256 GB NVME SSD, and AMD RX 580, and I got to tell you this thing is a beast. I can run the macOS on it, but I don't recommend that for a production setting.


Hi there DearthnVader thanks for reply and the info i am thinking the same. I was looking at the same motherboard and cpu . What i have in this mac is gtx 770 4gb radeon 5770 i am running resolve color grading program and i am thinking of adding another gtx 770 and using 5770 for monitors so basically i am fine with GPU now i have 32 gb of SAMSUNG M393B1K70CH0-CH9Q5 8GB (1X8GB) 1333MHZ PC3-10600R ECC REGISTERED CL9 DUAL RANK X4 1.5V DDR3 SDRAM 240-PIN RDIMM can i use this memory on GIGABYTE X399 AORUS mother board or do i have to buy new memory? I also have 3x3 TB HD that i use as for editing in raid 0. And mostly i will be editing 4k fottage.

Any info is appreciated
 

DearthnVader

macrumors 65816
Dec 17, 2015
1,297
5,920
Red Springs, NC
Hi there DearthnVader thanks for reply and the info i am thinking the same. I was looking at the same motherboard and cpu . What i have in this mac is gtx 770 4gb radeon 5770 i am running resolve color grading program and i am thinking of adding another gtx 770 and using 5770 for monitors so basically i am fine with GPU now i have 32 gb of SAMSUNG M393B1K70CH0-CH9Q5 8GB (1X8GB) 1333MHZ PC3-10600R ECC REGISTERED CL9 DUAL RANK X4 1.5V DDR3 SDRAM 240-PIN RDIMM can i use this memory on GIGABYTE X399 AORUS mother board or do i have to buy new memory? I also have 3x3 TB HD that i use as for editing in raid 0. And mostly i will be editing 4k fottage.

Any info is appreciated

You'll have to buy new ram, DDR4, I got 32 GB DDR4 2666 for $300. Your drives will be fine, the 5770 likely wouldn't work as it has bios/EFI, rather than Bios/UEFI, but my ASUS B350-F has a mix CSM/UEFI mode, so I can use mixed Bios/UEFI cards, so the Asus X399 may have that too. Just couldn't say for sure how Windows would handle mixed UEFI/Bios cards, as I've never tried it.

I usually run Ubuntu on an RX 580 crunching Ether on the GPU, while I pass a Quadro 600 to Windows 10 virtual machine, and a GTX 1050 to a macOS virtual machine. Nice triple monitor setup with Win/Linux/Mac left to right. Thanks to KVM/Qemu I can pass two cores and four threads to each virtual machine, and keep 4 cores 8 threads for Linux. It's amazing how well it works, and how hard it is to setup proper.

Like I said, it's a beast, but if I had gone Threadripper I'd have to get a few more personalities.:D

Ryzen and Threadripper like the fastest Ram you can afford, the faster the ram, the better they preform, but DDR4 3000 can be 40-50% more $$$, depending on brand.

The Asus X399 has 8x SATA 6 GB ports that support Raid 0/1/10, and three M.2 ports supporting PCIE 4x/2x 3.0. So that should really take care of all your drive needs well into the future.
 
  • Like
Reactions: orph

baba001

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 18, 2017
27
0
Hi guys thanks so much for your help. I found really affordable local Xeons workstations HP Z820 and Z800. I will be installing one GTX 770 and GTX 1080 and one HD5770 HP including deck link mini monitor card has 1120W Power supply and Z800 has 850. Are those machines old? and Thanks guys so much for you time and understanding

HP Z820 Pro Workstation, - 6 Cores - 12 Threads , AES, VT HT 15MB -32/64 Bit
Fast Hexa 6 Core 2.50Ghz/3.0Ghz Xeon(E5-2640) Z820 32GB 2TB W10
Fast Hexa 6 Core 2.50Ghz- Intel E5 Xeon (E5-2640 )- 3.0Ghz Turbo
HP Z820 Pro Workstation, - 6 Cores - 12 Threads , AES, VT HT 15MB -32/64 Bit
32.0GB ECC Registered DDR3 Memory(Supports up to 512GB - 16 ram slots)
2.0TB SATA (2.0TBx1) Hard Drive DVDRW, Dual Gigabit Network/Ethernet Sound.
6 Gb/s SATA/SAS ports, 6 SATA 8 SAS ports. 4 USB 3.0 ports. 6 USB 2.0 Ports. 6 PCI express slots. 768MB Nvidia Quadro FX1800 PCI Express videocard 2 DVI(can display Dual Monitors)
Silver & black case. 1120W Powersupply. Includes: Keyboard & Mouse.
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit COA/Installed

Product Description:
Designed by BMW, the HP Z820 Workstation is the ultra high end solution designed for complex computing environments that require outstanding performance, expandability and capacity. Professional workstation with highest end Xeon Processors, built for Graphics, CAD/CAM, Gaming, and Industrial applications. Supports SATA/SAS, Intel VT, HT 16 Ram slots, Max 512GB memory. USB 3.0, 6 Gb/s SATA/SAS supported.
Includes 1 processor, supports up to 2 Processors, 6 Cores - 12 Threads in Window 7/8/10, and available for Virtualization.


OR

12 Cores 2x Hexa 2.80Ghz/3.20Ghz HP Z800 Pro 32GB 2TB SATA Win10
$689.00

Fast Hexa 12 Cores - 2xHexa 6 Core 2.80Ghz/3.20Ghz- Intel Xeons(i7-X5660s-Westmere)- VT HT AES
HP Z800 Pro Workstation, - 12 Cores - 24 Threads , Turbo, AES VT HT 12MB -32/64 Bit
32.0GB ECC DDR3 Memory(Supports up to 192GB - 12 ram slots)
2.0TB SATA (2.0TB x 1) Hard Drives DVDRW, Dual Gigabit Network/Ethernet Sound.
6 SATA ports, 8 SAS ports. 9 USB 2.0 ports. 6 PCI express slots.
1.0GB AMD HD Radeon PCI Express videocard (can display Dual Monitors)
Silver & black case. Includes: Keyboard & Mouse.
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit COA/Installed


This is MOB layout for Z820

videocardreference_hpz820_pci_slots_matrox.png

Z800

001.png
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.