CPU upgrade to my Mac Pro 4,1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by walks357, Mar 19, 2017.

  1. walks357, Mar 19, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2017

    walks357 macrumors newbie

    walks357

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    #1
    Finally got around to upgrading the CPU in my Mac Pro which I bought new in 2009. It was a low end system with one CPU @ 2.66 GHz. I just installed a W3690 CPU (after the firmware update to 5,1) and I have a couple of questions. First, the System Overview is reporting that I have 32GB of 1333 MHz ram, when I really have 32GB of 1066MHz ram, is this normal? Second, can I go to 48 GB of ram with this CPU (3x16GB sticks)? Third, I am running the El Capitan OS, if I want to move to Sierra OS, is this a simple download from the Apple store and the upgrade "just works" on this 2009 firmware-upgraded box? Thanks!

    UPDATE: Actually, my system is smarter than me... I just took a look at the installed memory and even though I ordered 1066 MHz ram, I was sent 1333 MHZ. So, that's nice and you can ignore my first question!
     
  2. joebclash macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
  3. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #3
    I havd the exact same upgrade (as per my signature). The flashed 5,1 can upgrade to Sierra via the native way. And the W3690 can drive 3x16GB RAM.
     
  4. DPUser macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #4
    FYI, a lot of 1333 RAM is sold and labeled as 1066. I had the happy surprise of my "1066" turning out to be 1333 and have heard of a number of others with the same experience.
     
  5. kristeva macrumors newbie

    kristeva

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    #5
    Hi Walks357

    I need to do the same upgrade as you - there seems to be a lot info out there, which instructions / link did you follow to complete the upgrade?

    Cheers! Paul
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    The single CPU 4,1 upgrade is simple. The best instruction to follow is in the Apple Technician Guide. Otherwise, watch few related Youtube videos and you should be good to go.
     
  7. howiest macrumors regular

    howiest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Location:
    Left Coast
    #7
    The only caveat might be your wifi card. Some 4,1 Mac Pros have a Broadcomm wifi card that stops working under Sierra. Other 4,1 Mac Pros have the Atheros card that is compatible with Sierra. Check you System report to see what you have in your Mac Pro. If you have the Atheros card, or, if you hard-wire connect via ethernet, then just go ahead and install Sierra. If you have the Broadcomm card, you may want to buy/install a compatible card before installing Sierra.
     
  8. walks357 thread starter macrumors newbie

    walks357

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2017
    #8
    Hi Paul,
    I watched every YouTube video I could find and followed the Apple Service manual for the 2009 Mac Pro. The CPU upgrade turned out to be not as terrifying as I imagined. It actually was easy. However, I did have one fly in the ointment when I discovered a plastic rivet rolling around the processor board when I removed the heat sink. It came from the smaller Northbridge heat sink and I am having trouble locating replacement rivets for it. It appears this is a common issue with the 4,1 Mac Pro.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 22, 2017 ---
    Thanks for the warning howiest, but I didn't order my Mac Pro with a wifi card.
     
  9. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #9
    I had same issue with plastic rivet from northbridge breaking on me. After about 4 months of running without issues it died and i had to buy new processor tray.
     
  10. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #10

Share This Page