CPU Usage High

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AcesHigh87, Mar 16, 2009.

  1. AcesHigh87 macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #1
    OKay so I turned on my Macbook (2.4 gHz White) today and noticed the fan was running very high. iStat has it set at somewhere around 6000rpm. Anyway, I was looking through iStat to see what could cause this and found that my CPU usage for user is up around 90% plus. This is odd though cuz all I have open is Firefox and Mercury Messenger. What I was wondering is why would the usage be so high and how can I avoid it cuz frankly with the fan running this fast I get the feeling I might burn it out.
     
  2. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #2
    You can see a list of processes and their CPU usage in Activity Monitor.
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #3
    Is spotlight indexing? Look for something called "mds" in Activity Monitor.
     
  4. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #4
    Is time machine doing a first backup? In the magnifying glass in the top right of the screen, is there a flashing dot inside?
     
  5. AcesHigh87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #5
    Well I looked through my Activity monitor and it has showed me that Mercury Messenger is taking up a lot of CPU, probably because it needs to be mounted my guess) but it was never doing this until yesterday so I'm not sure why it has decided to do so now
     
  6. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #6
    View All Processes.

    Reboot?

    Try a different messenger. Adium is a good one.
     
  7. AcesHigh87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #7
    I had Adium for awhile but never really enjoyed it, plus it didn't have video chat. I like Mercury, and it has never caused me a problem until yesterday when it decided to rack my CPU up. With it closed I run at like 4% CPU with it open it's at 95%.

    I guess I need to find another messenger, would be nice if the MSN one was decent but it's like 7 generations behind the Microsoft one
     
  8. kastenbrust macrumors 68030

    kastenbrust

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Location:
    North Korea
    #8
    I just run MSN in OS X :) No issues, cam works and everything.
     
  9. AcesHigh87 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    AcesHigh87

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    #9
    How, the MSN for Mac doesn't have half the features regular MSN does, including cam? I got Adium again, even though I'm not a fan of it BTW
     
  10. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #10
    I'm fairly sure it does have video chat. I seem to remember the feature being called "Video call" or something. If MSN doesn't work for you, you could try Yahoo messenger or Skype. Both of these have video that works pretty well.
     
  11. Dmac77 macrumors 68020

    Dmac77

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Location:
    Michigan
    #11
    It's the new Beta that has video chat in it. The current version doesn't support video chat.

    Don
     

Share This Page